The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   ‘64 K20 factory tach (http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=760619)

bsask80 03-30-2018 08:05 PM

‘64 K20 factory tach
 
Have a ‘64 K20 with a factory tach. Don’t know what engine was original. Has a 454 with hei ignition now. Tach needle moves but only goes from 0 to about 1500 rpm. What should I be checking ?

Nanook 03-30-2018 10:19 PM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
You need to pull the gauge cluster and remove the tach to see if it is for a 6 cylinder or an eight. They are different tachs and cannot be interchanged.

There should be a sticker on the back that will tell you.

Pictures would help...

bsask80 03-30-2018 11:57 PM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
I will have to take some pics. And sounds like pull the cluster. Could maybe do some research on my vin and see what engine it came with also I guess

Captainfab 03-31-2018 01:20 AM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
The VIN will not tell you what engine the truck came with from the factory. Also, most gauge clusters with factory tachs came in the medium duty trucks. So your gauge cluster may not be original to your truck. And an original tach will not work with a HEI.

bsask80 03-31-2018 11:05 AM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
So it really doesn’t matter what tach I have then if an original won’t work with hei

VictoriaHardware 04-01-2018 09:28 AM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bsask80 (Post 8226194)
Tach needle moves but only goes from 0 to about 1500 rpm

I have a '65 V8 tach that does the same thing. It's very stable, smooth, and accurate- I checked it against a Sun tach/dwell meter. Only problem is it won't go higher than 1500 rpm. Not sure if someone repairs these or they are just not worth the cost/effort. Should I just buy a new repro?

Ken Cook 04-02-2018 09:32 AM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
Call RedlineG.com
He should be able to help.

rideblue00 04-08-2018 08:58 AM

Re: ‘64 K20 factory tach
 
if you decide to change up to a new one, check out my tach install thread

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=499570


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com