The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   I want to learn to weld! Advice from experienced welders welcome (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=743744)

Jmh68C10 08-01-2017 10:15 PM

I want to learn to weld! Advice from experienced welders welcome

Hey everyone,

I have always wanted to learn to weld as it would be a great skill to know both for my hobbies as well as for my business ( Repair trucks, trailers, equipment. I am a landscape contractor). A local public school has evening classes and offer mig tig and stick. I have known some good welders come out from the school. Whats got me stumped is what process to start on. I will mainly be working on equipment and of course my c10 as well as other projects. I wouldn't rule out side work if I ever was good enough at it. I plan to buy a miller mp215 for home use and take multiple classes over time but what would be the best foundation to learn on. I have read some say to start with the harder processes like stick so the other come easier. So with that being said experienced welders, where should I start.

mongocanfly 08-01-2017 10:27 PM

Re: I want to learn to weld! Advice from experienced welders welcome