The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Lord I'm new and need some help (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=744573)

bradleyheathhays 08-14-2017 07:47 PM

Lord I'm new and need some help

Hey I'm new to these awesome 60-66 Chevy trucks and was hoping to ease in, but I just ran up on what I think is a decent '64 c-10 for sale and need to get some fast feedback.

This one is a 3 on the tree long bed step side, which I've never seen before, and seems to be in good shape. Am waiting back for more pictures of the underneath side for indications of rust.

My issue is I have a budget of course and I would like my eventual truck to end up with a 6 cyl, a T400 auto trans, power steering, and a/c. And of all of these this truck only has the 6, so at least it's a start.

So my questions are...how difficult and costly is it to add individually... a T400 auto transmission to a 3 on the tree truck, a/c, and power steering?

Although I've never gotten too deep in my engine, clutch or trans I pretty much do all the work on my cars..96 Jeep Cherokee and an 02 Maxima. Been looking for a reason to get a mig machine anyway.

So if I can do a fair amount of this work myself, how much would each of these upgrades end up costing me, in parts?

Clyde65 08-14-2017 08:05 PM

Re: Lord I'm new and need some help

Easy Peasy, only takes time and money my friend!

Welcome to the forum!

All of those can be done in weekend jobs if your patient.

DPowers 08-14-2017 09:19 PM

Welcome to the site.

AcampoDave 08-14-2017 11:47 PM

Welcome. This site has enough info achieved here to keep you reading all night. Just use the search box up top and be sure to click the blue dot over to the 67-72 Chevy trucks side first.