The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Paint & Bodywork (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   How to approach this? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=769029)

HRD 08-08-2018 01:13 AM

How to approach this?

2 Attachment(s)
I'm totally new at body work.
The pictures: #1 is the front of my inner fender panels and #2 is the side of the inner fender panel. These panels are good except for the fronts of them.
There is no patch panels that I'm aware of that could be welded on to get rid of all the pitting that is on front of them.
The bottom third would have to be replaced to get high enough to have good enough metal to even weld a patch on the front of them. That I have already done on one.
But...How do you cover/smooth the rest of the upper 2 thirds of it? Are can it be done?
I'm not building a show winner but would like for it to look decent.

mongocanfly 08-08-2018 01:17 AM

Re: How to approach this?

I would just replace them if possible...if your wanting to just smooth them and there's no other damage then I'd sandblast them...epoxy prime and skim coat body filler over them...

MARTINSR 08-08-2018 11:25 AM

If they are solid, but just severe rust pits as it looks to me, sand blast and then use Polyester primer on them. Polyester primer in four coats can bury a dime taped to the surface, no kidding. Polyester primer is basically "sprayable bondo."

So, it is MUCH easier to finish off than if you were to spread filler on it. Polyester primer is not for everything, but exactly what I would use on something like that.

Feather fill is what I would go with.

http://www.evercoat.com/evercoat-primers/us/

Brian

mongocanfly 08-08-2018 01:57 PM

Martin...would you not want epoxy on the bare metal first?....

MARTINSR 08-08-2018 02:14 PM

Quote: