The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1967 - 1972 Chevy/GMC Suburbans & Panels Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   How I got Hydroboost for under $80 (including lines) (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=523502)

OneOffStroker 05-07-2012 08:45 PM

How I got Hydroboost for under $80 (including lines)

5 Attachment(s)
Here's a thread that will hopefully save you guys some time & money while updating your trucks to better, safer brakes.

I got a Hydroboost with Master Cylinder & prop valve from a '94 Astro out of my local pick-n-pull for just under $30. When scavenging a hydroboost (HB) from Astro vans, look for the earlier 90's, as the later ones are mounted at an extreme angle that just might not work in our trucks. The earlier ones are mostly straight. It unbolts from the inside, near the brake pedal, and is overall easy enough to remove. I cut the stock lines at the gear box and the pump, just so that I could gauge how long they were, because that was the highlight of the savings.

Most HB swaps that I researched before I did mine used Earl's Pro-flex hose and fittings, which are pricey. Add to that the necessary adapters to fit up to the HB, pump, and gear, and these guys were in over $200 in just lines and fittings. Personally, I don't spend $200+ on 4 feet of hose.