The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Paint & Bodywork (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Can I fix this myself (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=735001)

el_fantasma 04-09-2017 02:19 AM

Can I fix this myself

1 Attachment(s)
Can I fix this area above my wheel well with just touch paint or do I need to use bondo, primer, paint and then clear coat. Maybe a kit like this http://www.paintscratch.com/neworder...ray-Paint-Kit/

My SPID calls the color 152110 White but online it appears to be called White 521 (1972).

Any suggestions are appreciated.

bs46488 04-10-2017 03:52 PM

Re: Can I fix this myself

I'm not an expert, but I'll answer both yes and no.

Yes - you could touch it up with touch up paint, but it's will not fill in that large of a chip.

No - that area would need a little body work to fix seamlessly. The picture looks like the paint is cracked to the right, so that fix might start to become a 2"x5" repair area once you start to remove all the damaged area.

MARTINSR 04-29-2017 03:49 PM

It looks like it's much worse than the photo is implying. The dent is going in causing an "eye brow" or "crown" up above or at least right on the body line.

To repair it properly, oh yeah, pulling the dent with a stud gun. And then bondo work, primer and paint. The area would be much larger than that chipped paint and thus painting the whole fender or quarter would be the correct repair.

Let's step back a bit and look at options.

1. The mark that goes horizontal there looks like a "transfer" that would wipe off with lacquer thinner and or some polishing compound. I clean stuff like that off with lacquer thinner at work all the time.

Then brush touch the chip, with a brush.