The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Engine & Drivetrain (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   454 needs more power (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=484809)

68bigblock 09-17-2011 03:39 PM

454 needs more power

Hello, I recently started building a 68 chevy short wide. I just dropped a 454 in it with roller rockers, and an rv cam. The block has been bored 60 over. I have a tb 350 with a b&m shift kit and a 2500 stall. This is my first time to really mess with a motor so I am clueless. The truck has plenty of power but it's slow. Runs 80mph tops. Any info or suggestions would be greatly appreciated on how to make my big block run like a champ. Thanks
Posted via Mobile Device
Posted via Mobile Device

68bigblock 09-17-2011 05:07 PM

Re: 454 needs more power

I don't have any idea where to start to gain horse power. A cam? The heads? I have no clue but I'm very interested to learn all I can about how to build a powerful motor
Posted via Mobile Device

oldblue1968chevy 09-18-2011 12:01 AM

What rear gears and more specs on motor? Mod neesd to move this to the engine section..

68bigblock 09-18-2011 07:21 AM