The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   47-55.1 Installing door weather strip on '51 Chevrolet (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=804153)

LOW A D 04-10-2020 10:40 PM

Installing door weather strip on '51 Chevrolet

1 Attachment(s)
I installed the weather strip on my truck today. I will show you what I did in case anybody else wants to do it the way I did. I am posting this on a separate thread instead of on my build so it will be easier to find. I am not too good with computers so I hope I can do this in a way that makes it easy to understand. I can also only post one pic per post, I'm sure that's my fault, so there will be several posts! First pic is of the weatherstrip I used. I have done this on several trucks with excellent results. I stick the larger weatherstrip on the door and the smaller size on the cab. Because the strips are hollow, they compress to about 1/8 inch together

LOW A D 04-10-2020 10:45 PM

Re: Installing door weather strip on '51 Chevrolet

1 Attachment(s)
I tried to install the weatherstrip with the doors on the truck but gave up and took the doors off. This made the job much easier. This is a pic of the larger strip installed on the door. The weatherstrip is self adhesive so it is easy to apply.

LOW A D 04-10-2020 10:47 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Another pic of the weatherstrip on the door, I cut it at a 45 degree angle and butted it together on the bottom corner

LOW A D 04-10-2020 10:51 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This shows the smaller strip attached to the cab. With the two strips together they can close a large gap but still compress to 1/8 inch. I find by using the two strips I can eliminate most wind noise and leaks and the door still closes nicely