The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Flip Kit Shock Options (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=786640)

dagnabbitt 05-10-2019 12:37 PM

Flip Kit Shock Options

My parts hoarding and collecting has reached the point where I can finally make some big changes to my 81 swb stepside. I have ECE lowering spindles and coils for the front, and a Belltech flip kit for the back. I'm going for a 4/6 drop and I have never done anything like this before. Incidentally the ECE guys are phenomenal to deal with: I wish I had gone with them for the rear as well.

I have learned from the forum that when installing the flip kit I will need to either install shock relocators, or get a shorter shock.

Normally I would just get the shock relocators, but I think I need new shocks anyway: I am thinking of foregoing the relocators and buying shorter shocks.

Anyone gone this route instead? If I do this, what shock should I buy: I know nothing about buying shocks unless they are the stock ones that the parts guy hands out by request.

flnole78 05-10-2019 02:33 PM

Re: Flip Kit Shock Options

I bought the belltech BT2208HF for the rear of mine. I also have just the flip kit and bolt in c notch.

dagnabbitt 05-10-2019 04:02 PM

Did you relocate your shocks, or go with a shorter replacement?

Tom 05-10-2019 06:37 PM

You don't relocate anything you merely bolt on extenders to the factory shock bracket so the shock mounts lower and has the same overall travel as before.

dagnabbitt 05-10-2019 06:39 PM