The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   68 Chevy Pickup Drum Brakes (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=496633)

cbenney 12-01-2011 08:15 PM

68 Chevy Pickup Drum Brakes

5 Attachment(s)
Here it goes.... My Brother-in-law passed away earlier this year, always told me that Chevy trucks were the best! Well, he picked up a 1968 pickup 3/4 ton c20 before he got sick. NO one wanted the truck, so I took it… I was told by family members that the brakes and bearings were not working so they would need to be replaced. So, I am a rookie when it comes to repairing, but always wanted to learn... This is a nice project that should keep me busy for a while. So I at my first bump in the road...

I have reviewed and looked at a lot of threads, the one below was helpful...

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=283587

The problem is that I can not get the drum off the shaft... He says in the thread that the whole drum and stud assambly came right off.... mine will not. It wiggles a little but wont budge.... It feels like there is something holding it on at the top of the drum. I included pictures (hope they post)... any help of tricks would be appricated.

vectorit 12-01-2011 09:04 PM

Re: 68 Chevy Pickup Drum Brakes

Have you made sure that the shoes are compressed inward as far as they will go?

If the outer bearing is sloppy, it will jam against the axle tube threads.
I take a punch, and tap it around the edges to try to get it to come off straight. It's a huge pain in the but, since the drum is so large and nothing really to grab onto.

Or... you can beat on the drum with a BFH to try and shake it loose.
Be sure to wear hearing protection, since it's just like banging on a giant bell. :lol: