The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Paint & Bodywork (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   cleaning up paint gun (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=741841)

65truckowner 07-06-2017 09:11 PM

cleaning up paint gun

After each use of my paint gun I take it apart and clean it and soak the little parts in thinner all night. I even stick the gun down in a cup of thinner but it is starting to build up paint on the inside of it. I soaked it all night and day and then took the small brush to it but could not get all the paint to come off. Is there something I can put in it and spray through it to clean all the old paint?

bs46488 07-18-2017 02:43 PM

Re: cleaning up paint gun

Subb'ed

I'm new to painting and want to hear about how people clean guns.

I take everything apart and clean with lacquer thinner and scrub. I just seems like I use a lot of thinner to clean up.

tinydb84 07-18-2017 05:49 PM

I use paint gun cleaner. I get it in aerosol cans. I haven't had any issues with a build up of paint. I strip the gun down and clean it as soon as I am finished though.

Tiger Joe 07-19-2017 07:44 AM

I loathe cleaning paint guns, so much so that when I found a deal on one of those paint gun washing machines, I bought it!

prior to that, soon as I was done spraying I emptied the paint, and blew thinner thru the gun. I spray thinner till it came out clear/close to clear. then I'd clean the gun, finally I'd toss some thinner back in it blow it out again, should come out clear now.

MARTINSR 07-19-2017 10:05 AM

What Tiger said!