The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-04-2013, 12:46 AM   #1
emil77

Wiring harness for auxiliary rear lights?

Hi guys,

I have a '72 Chevy C20 long bed. I bought a pair of the auxiliary driving lights pictured below that I would like to install on my rear bumper. I have never done wiring like this before, I have installed a car stereo one time if that counts. The kit does include a wiring harness, instructions and a switch. The thing that perplexes me is how do I get the wires all the way from the rear bumper up into the engine compartment? I don't understand the routing of the wires part. I have googled and read up on the subject, but still don't get it. Do I really have to run the wires all the way from the rear up into the engine compartment to hook onto the battery?

emil77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 03:05 AM   #2
Andy4639
Old member

Talking Re: Wiring harness for auxiliary rear lights?

That depends on how you want them to work. If you have the backup lights working you can tie into your harness under the truck are behind the light it self and ground them. They will only come on when the truck is in reverse though.
If you want them to work anytime you will need a wire from the battery to switch on the dash to the lights on the back bumper.
It all depends on how u want them to operate.

Upstate SC GM Truck Club
2013,14 and 2016 Hot Rod Pour Tour

http://upstategmtrucks.com/

Get out and drive the truck this summer and have some fun!
It sucks not being able to hear!

LWB trucks rule, if you don't think so measure your SWB!