The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1988 - 1998 GMT400 Chevy & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-18-2018, 12:16 PM   #1
bigunde
Rusty Rockerfeller

Gauges acting up when shifting to reverse 1990 c3500

When u shift into reverse my gauges go crazy, pegging out, etc. Bsck to normal in drive. Any ideas.?
bigunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 03:36 PM   #2
Pampas56

Re: Gauges acting up when shifting to reverse 1990 c3500

I'm no expert, but most of the instrument cluster problems seem to devolve to a grounding issue. If your cluster is not grounded well ANY input to the cluster tries to go to ground through the gauges.

My truck worked great during the day, but if I turned the headlights on or hit the turn signal the gauges went plum crazy.

Sometimes just pulling a new ground to the cluster solves it.

1998 Dakota EC 250K miles- I guess I'm just a truck guy now!
Pampas56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 04:15 PM   #3
ChevyTech

I agree it sounds like something is losing ground.

Check all grounds.

The instrument panel grounds at a screw next to the ALDL connector.

There is a ground wire between the back of the passenger side cylinder head and the fire wall.

The ECM and engine sensors ground at the front of the intake manifold under the front intake bolts/studs or by the thermostat.

Check the ground between the negative battery cable and the fender.

Test for voltage between the engine block and the negative battery bolt.
ChevyTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 02:30 PM   #4
bigunde
Rusty Rockerfeller