The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2018, 10:49 PM   #826
skymangs
Registered User
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,696
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaArt View Post
that is with 2' drop spindles and 3' front drop springs
toss the code 504 kit and follow my instructions, you'll be happy that you did.

once you cut the cab brackets nothing else will fit. everything is based off that cab to frame height. IMHO nothing looks right on a finished truck with one of those kits, the gaps are all wrong. if you read this thread from the beginning you'll see step by step instructions with diagrams and measurements. if you can cut down 504 brackets, you can do this!
besides you have to pick brains with!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:00 PM   #827
KRFitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Saskatoon, SK.
Posts: 18
Re: S10 Swap how to

Working on lowering my front end. I cut 1" of height off the S10 front coil springs to get 2" of drop. What is the most that can be cut off before things start getting strange? I'm hoping to avoid buying drop spindles and get all my lowering out of shortening the springs.
KRFitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:42 PM   #828
NovaArt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Chicopee, MA
Posts: 4
Re: S10 Swap how to

thanks skymangs started looking at your build on page 8 will continue tomorrow
NovaArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:29 AM   #829
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 4,609
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaArt View Post
with the code 504 kit befor cutting kit the running boards were 9'' of ground hade 2' above front tire way to high by cutting cab mounts 3' bring running boards 5'' of ground

something is not adding up, and its not just your math (9" - 3" cut = 5"?) also, what tires are you running? if you have a 235/75/15 on it thats a 29.5" tall tire!

the code 504 kit is made to put the running boards about an inch below the frame. you said you changed out the front coils for lowering springs so that means you probably dont have Z85 springs (the high ride springs) in there any more. skymangs brackets with stock s10 bushings put the running boards in almost the same spot. also, the interference you are having with the radiator after cutting confirms that the code 504 kit is roughly the same height as skymangs lowered brackets.

a lot of guys see the cab on the frame and it LOOKS really tall, but its not actually. let me tell you from experience, skymangs lowered mounts with a 2" spring and 2" drop spindle puts the running boards about 3.5" off the ground, and that having the running boards 3.5" off the ground lets the front bumper scrub the crown in the road! this is all with plenty of clearance for a 19x22 rad. you are saying with 3" more out of the kit, and 5" of front drop you are still at 5", I say impossible. that would be almost flat on the ground.

do you have the motor in? trans? front clip on? running boards on? bed? because if you just have the cab on the frame its going to look a mile high.
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

Project: WAMEGO
my LU3 4.3 4L60E S10 49 GMC 150
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=765957


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 11:18 AM   #830
skymangs
Registered User
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,696
Re: S10 Swap how to

I 100% agree with joedoh. the math is just not adding up (math is hard). I can tell you that my version 2 brackets with stock springs, 2" drop spindles, and 2"' blocks in the rear will net you the forward edge of the boards 5" off the ground. do not doubt me on this! I've built hundreds! and stay away from dropped springs and cut coils. with dropped spindles you still get full suspension travel. dropped springs and cut coils ride like $hit anyway!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 01:19 PM   #831
dettmer13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Hephzibah, GA
Posts: 33
Re: S10 Swap how to

Question for you guys. I browsed the thread for awhile and couldn't find what I was looking for.

I used SKYMANGS cab mount design and everything bolted up. I was wondering what the cab height off the frame should be both front and back. I'm not sure if it should be level or what, but if someone could provide me those measurements, I'm sure it will make putting the rest of the body together much easier. Also, let me know to what point on the cab you measure to. As we all know, pictures are worth a 1000 hours of work.....

Thanks in adavnce!!
dettmer13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 03:24 PM   #832
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 4,609
Re: S10 Swap how to

the mounts give the height in their dimensions, just add the inch of the body mount to it. so if you use his version 2 brackets for example, the front mount is 3 1/4 tall off the frame plus the inch for the bushing, so 4 1/4. in the back its 4" tall, plus the inch is 5". the height difference is because the front has an underfloor brace that the body bushing will mount to, but the rear does not (on shackle mount cabs you have to trim the floor support to get the body bushing to mount flat

so the flat of the AD floor should be 5" off the flat part of the frame, the front section of the frame takes a ~1/2" dip
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

Project: WAMEGO
my LU3 4.3 4L60E S10 49 GMC 150
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=765957


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 04:20 PM   #833
ghettoluxury
Registered User
 
ghettoluxury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waynesfield Ohio
Posts: 1,989
Re: S10 Swap how to

I’ve read all of this thread and Skymags builds along with a lot of other S10 swap builds. My question is with the version 2 mounts does the cab floor remain flat? Also does the bed floor remain at the same height and retain the factory cross sills? Everything I have read makes me believe that the bed floor will raise 1/2 inch.
__________________

1949 Five Window, 1973 Step Side, 2000 Z71
ghettoluxury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 07:30 AM   #834
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 4,609
Re: S10 Swap how to

the version 2 are the taller mounts, right? thats what is labeled version 2.

with the short mounts, if I had an extra inch in height between the cab and frame I wouldnt need much of a trans bump. if I did it would only be because of the bellhousing, and only from how far I move the motor back, which is more than some guys do


for the floor of the bed it all depends on how you are mounting the floor. if you use the stock bed crossmembers and bed wood, I think the taller mounts would let you keep the floor intact. you might have to modify the bed crossmembers around the gas tank/axle. as it stands, I use the shorter version of skymangs mounts and the stock s10 bed floor, and it moves up about an inch.
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

Project: WAMEGO
my LU3 4.3 4L60E S10 49 GMC 150
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=765957


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:23 PM   #835
skymangs
Registered User
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,696
Re: S10 Swap how to

IIRC version 2 are the shorter ones.

with my design the bed floor moves from below the edge angle strips to above, it's really hardly noticeable. And with my design the bed is so much more sturdy and usable there really is no comparison.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 01:38 PM   #836
ghettoluxury
Registered User
 
ghettoluxury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waynesfield Ohio
Posts: 1,989
Re: S10 Swap how to

Thanks for all the information Skymangs. I have made my mounts based on your version 1 mounts. They’re the same height due to the to me using Dodge poly mounts that are 1/2” different front to rear.
Attached Images
    
__________________

1949 Five Window, 1973 Step Side, 2000 Z71

Last edited by ghettoluxury; 10-28-2018 at 01:48 PM.
ghettoluxury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 09:02 PM   #837
28TudorAZ
Registered User
 
28TudorAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 86
Re: S10 Swap how to

On the s10 proportioning valve I am assuming the rear of it goes to the front?
28TudorAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 06:58 PM   #838
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 4,609
Re: S10 Swap how to

thats the way mine is
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

Project: WAMEGO
my LU3 4.3 4L60E S10 49 GMC 150
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=765957


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 03:06 PM   #839
skymangs
Registered User
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,696
Re: S10 Swap how to

Those mounts look real good, remember to bend the legs out 15deg. for frame strength. now I’ll have to go back and look, now I'm remembering versos 1 as the short ones.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:58 PM   #840
skymangs
Registered User
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,696
Re: S10 Swap how to

The version 1's are 31/4" above the frame, version 2's are 41/4". Version 1's ARE shorter!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 07:12 PM   #841
my80schild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: aliso viejo
Posts: 6
Re: S10 Swap how to

e brake decisions

Ok apologize in advance if this has been expressed already but I have these 34 pages a few times in the past year and can't recall or find the answer.

I don't have the OEM parts for the s10 or 3100 for my an e-brake. what is everyone using as far as e-brakes go. I'm looking for something clean that is on the drivers side kick panel. hopefully to line up the the original s10 e-brake cables into the cab. picture would really help if anyones got some.
my80schild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 07:36 PM   #842
28TudorAZ
Registered User
 
28TudorAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 86
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by my80schild View Post
e brake decisions

Ok apologize in advance if this has been expressed already but I have these 34 pages a few times in the past year and can't recall or find the answer.

I don't have the OEM parts for the s10 or 3100 for my an e-brake. what is everyone using as far as e-brakes go. I'm looking for something clean that is on the drivers side kick panel. hopefully to line up the the original s10 e-brake cables into the cab. picture would really help if anyones got some.

I just picked up the cable and mechanism from an 1994 Chevrolet c1500. It has a longer arm on the pedal and longer cable.
28TudorAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 01:14 PM   #843
tlorber
Registered User
 
tlorber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 232
Re: S10 Swap how to

How did you mount the pedal? Do you have any pics?
tlorber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 05:53 PM   #844
my80schild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: aliso viejo
Posts: 6
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by 28TudorAZ View Post
I just picked up the cable and mechanism from an 1994 Chevrolet c1500. It has a longer arm on the pedal and longer cable.
thanks 28TudorAZ for your response back.

does or can the c1500 e-brake mechanism hide up in the dash? I would love if there is enough room for the brake mechanism to hide up in the dash near the drivers kick panel and just have the pedal hanging down.
my80schild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com