The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 06:23 PM   #1
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Has anyone installed this? Pro's? con's.

http://www.competitionplus.com/drag-...-up-wiring-kit
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 08:52 PM   #2
clinebarger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer here
Posts: 6,255
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

TCI makes good products, It sounds good, I like the adjustable vacuum switch.
I would run the power through a "dual brake switch" to kill power to the lock-up solenoid during braking. It will work TCIs way, But under heavy braking on slick surfaces the rear wheels can lock-up causing the engine to stall if the converter clutch is locked up. Ask me how I know
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 11:30 PM   #3
rickpilgrim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wausau, WI
Posts: 549
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

I ran a very similiar TCI system on a 200R4 in my V8 Monza TC yrs back. I had it set to engauge in 4th only but like clinebarger said, have it wired to disingauge under braking.
Pro's- it locks the converter when U want it to, better mpg, a cooler(temp)
runing trans

Cons- gives U a harsher shift to 4th as u get a shift and converter lock all at
once, not fun to install with fluid dripping all over and it takes some
playing around to get it set right, and then it's not always exactly
what you want under all conditions

Overall if I had to I would run it again as it iis much better than the alternatives. Of course now that the 4l60E and 4l65E and the 4l80E series trans are available at a more reasonable cost and you can get an Optishift trans controller for less than $600.00 I like that system better. Just my 2c
rickpilgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:19 AM   #4
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

The vac switch is on the ground side. If I did add a brake switch that would be on the +12volt side? I know the type of switch you are talking about but for the life of me I can't recall what cars they were installed in. I will be installing this over the weekend. Any pointers? It looks to be a simple install and should be fun to do under the truck.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:39 AM   #5
clinebarger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer here
Posts: 6,255
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zellway View Post
The vac switch is on the ground side. If I did add a brake switch that would be on the +12volt side? I know the type of switch you are talking about but for the life of me I can't recall what cars they were installed in. I will be installing this over the weekend. Any pointers? It looks to be a simple install and should be fun to do under the truck.
That is correct. Order a brake light switch for a 85 chevy C10.
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:18 PM   #6
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

This guy?
Attached Images
 
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:00 PM   #7
Marv D
Registered Truck Offender
 
Marv D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: hells training ground (aka Ariz)
Posts: 3,113
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

I tried to adapt that vacuum switch into my ElCamino and it was not 'user friendly'. It was bad to 'shuttle' in and out of lockup no matter what adjustment I tried. May have just been my combiation of junk and the high vacuum from the short duration cam. But it didn't work for me. Well let me clarify,, it didn't work to my 'satisfaction'! I won't say it didn't work

I ended upusing the MAP out of the Holley EFI system and finding a output from the C950 ECM. AND ordered the B&M speed sensing lockup. It was the only way to get it to feel 'right',, like the original ECM (like a 5speed with the convertor unlocking under moderate acceleration before downshift with heavier throttle) )
__________________
Still playin with trucks, even at my age!

When you're dead, it's only a problem for the people around you, because you don't know you're dead.
.....It's kinda the same when your STUPID.


I just did my taxes and reviewed my SS statement. Thanks to the current administration it looks like I will only have to work till noon on the day of my funeral.
Marv D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:17 PM   #8
clinebarger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer here
Posts: 6,255
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

That looks like the one, Almost. The ones I use are white without the plastic divider between the "lock-up" terminals. This is the "exact" one I use http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/sk...h/ACD850A.html
Im not saying the "black body" brake switch wont work! Just not familiar.

Go to a wreaking yard & get a original style connector for the "lock-up side" of the brake switch, Most mid 80s GM vehicles used this brake switch....Including Olds, Buick, Cadillac & Pontiac.
DO NOT use part store "spade connectors".

Last edited by clinebarger; 07-28-2011 at 10:30 PM.
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 10:50 AM   #9
k2rm
Registered User
 
k2rm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 136
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv D View Post

I ended upusing the MAP out of the Holley EFI system and finding a output from the C950 ECM. AND ordered the B&M speed sensing lockup. It was the only way to get it to feel 'right',, like the original ECM (like a 5speed with the convertor unlocking under moderate acceleration before downshift with heavier throttle) )
Mary D, can you give some more details on how you did this? I am trying to figure out how to do something similar. Thanks!
k2rm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 11:09 AM   #10
Dunenutt
Newbee
 
Dunenutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,408
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

I bought this one. Dont know how well it works, because it is still sitting on my bench! It has the switch and everything else.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PRF-60109/?rtype=10
Dunenutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 11:20 AM   #11
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunenutt View Post
I bought this one. Dont know how well it works, because it is still sitting on my bench! It has the switch and everything else.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PRF-60109/?rtype=10
I looked at that kit also. Looks about the same as the TCI kit but you don't have to splice anything. I was also looking at this kit. http://www.jegs.com/i/B%26amp%3BM/130/70244/10002/-1
I will not be doing any towing and its not a hot rod. I just want it to shift nice and crisp.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 09:18 PM   #12
karlbenz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kannapolis, nc
Posts: 325
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

I just use a toggle switch. easy install, lock up when I want it
karlbenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 10:25 PM   #13
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Well I got the pan off and look what I found. No wires. no solenoid. Don't know what I should do. I have been driving it like this and it shifts into all gears ok. Is this a non lock up?
Attached Images
   
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 10:40 PM   #14
Marv D
Registered Truck Offender
 
Marv D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: hells training ground (aka Ariz)
Posts: 3,113
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k2rm View Post
Mary D, can you give some more details on how you did this? I am trying to figure out how to do something similar. Thanks!
Well I'd be happy to if ya don't call me a MarY again LOL,, however my wife was saying something about me starting to get man-boobies. I think that is a sign it's time for a new wife ain't it!!!

If you 'really want to hear my ordeal making this work,,, here goes and I apologize to zellway for the hijack

Most of the 700r trans built and transplanted into earlier vehicles are set with a high pressure switch in the valve body to allow lockup in HIGH GEAR only. (Factory had a switch for both 3rd and 4th)The original GM ECU controlled things reading all he good stuff like gear position, MAP, throttle angle, vehicle speed, engine rpm....... and who knows what else. It would be a really cool to have all those parameters at your disposal to make a 'lockup' map wouldn't it! But unfortunately all most of us have is power feeding the high gear pressure switch.
So I took on the challenge BUT remember, The system I'm using is pulling MAP value out of the Holley Commander-950 EFI controller. You have a few programmable outputs in the C-950 and I selected MAP below 'X' value, send ground to pin (whatever) in the harness. That ground simply closed a relay in the feed from switch to the lockup. Get into the throttle and the lack of vacuum set the MAP value that opened the relay to unlock the converter. Took a lot of trial and error watching MAP on a laptop connected to the ECU

That's what this TCI switch zellway linked is supposed to do. But it's so darn sensitive you can't fine tune it,, It does nothing,,,, or it shuttles in and out of lockup at the slightest tip into the throttle I (again was just my experience with it)

Then...
I did the same thing with the output from the B&M lockup kit. B&M ignores the vacuum and locks up STRICTLY by speed. You have to have a VSS speedo sensor in your trans. JakeShoe here on this board built my trans and got the output shaft with the reluctor and tailhousing from a ?? year that had the electronic speedo VSS. (Also B&M gives you VSS that will adapt to the gear driven speedo unit with the kit,, you just order which ever one you need. Actually I ended up with 3,, including the one from the DakotaDash speedo sensor ) So anyways B&M has a dial and you crank in the speed that the converter locks up.

Combining the three,,,
the trans only allowed lockup in 4th gear by the pressure switch in the valve body.
The B&M kit would only allow lockup above xx mph (I used 43mph which works good with my gearing and most street cruising)
And finally the MAP / vacuum switch would open / close the relay depending on engine load. That was in the wire between the B&M kit and the trans plug.

Clear as mud??? send me a e-mail if it my typical confusing mess and I'll try to sketch it out for you.
__________________
Still playin with trucks, even at my age!

When you're dead, it's only a problem for the people around you, because you don't know you're dead.
.....It's kinda the same when your STUPID.


I just did my taxes and reviewed my SS statement. Thanks to the current administration it looks like I will only have to work till noon on the day of my funeral.
Marv D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 10:08 AM   #15
Dunenutt
Newbee
 
Dunenutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,408
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Looks like it has been converted to non lockup. Torque converter is probably non lockup too.
Dunenutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:13 PM   #16
clinebarger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer here
Posts: 6,255
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

On most 700R4s & some 4L60s you can lock & unlock the converter clutch 100% hydraulically through the Converter Shift Valve in the valve body, To do this you have to block the opening in the lock-up solenoid.
Remove the Lock-up solenoid (arrow in your pic) & see if snout is blocked with a ball bearing or Epoxy...Post what you find.

On a non lock-up conversion, There is no reason to install the lock-up solenoid, But I dont know what someone did inside that transmission.
Are you sure it wasnt locking up before? Or did the absence of wiring to the trans make you think that lock-up wasnt working?
Attached Images
 
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 11:40 PM   #17
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

I'm a noob when we are talking 700r4 but it did drive nice it just didnt have any wires and have been told the the TV cable and lock-up is a must if you don't want to fry it. I put it all back and its drives fine. Kinda holds 2nd and 3rd a bit longer then I like but i can live with that. Thanks for all your help with this. My burb is the next to get a 700r4 so I might have more fun problems.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:31 AM   #18
gonnuts
Registered User
 
gonnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Langdon, Ab
Posts: 348
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunenutt View Post
I bought this one. Dont know how well it works, because it is still sitting on my bench! It has the switch and everything else.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PRF-60109/?rtype=10
I put this in mine but I think an adjustable vacuum switch might be better because mine will kick down to 3rd before it unlocks converter. Unlocks converter when you touch brake though.
__________________
67 Chev SWB, 400 SB .040 over, vortec heads, comp XE268 cam, performer EPS intake, edel. 650 AVS carb, 700R4
gonnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 10:21 AM   #19
k2rm
Registered User
 
k2rm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 136
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Thanks Marv D. Sorry about the y I will "digest" your email and probably get back to you through a e-mail. I have an avenger mpfi, so I am not sure about the programable outputs that I have...
k2rm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:45 PM   #20
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

I like the way the truck drives so I don't know if I was going to do much more to it at this point. Do you think there will be any damage to running it this way? The temp outside have been around 105 to 110 and its runs about 230 degs around town amd 215 to 220 at 75 mph. Is this a safe temp?
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:28 PM   #21
clinebarger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer here
Posts: 6,255
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zellway View Post
I like the way the truck drives so I don't know if I was going to do much more to it at this point. Do you think there will be any damage to running it this way? The temp outside have been around 105 to 110 and its runs about 230 degs around town amd 215 to 220 at 75 mph. Is this a safe temp?
Is that engine temp or trans temp? 230 is bad for the engine & really bad for the trans.
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:36 PM   #22
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Motor temp is always around 195 to 200 but the temp for the tranny is always a bit hotter then the motor. I'm only running the lines to the cooler thats inside the radiator. My temp guage sender is mounted in the pan and with the heat out soon as you kick the key on it reads over 150. Thats the temp of the ground.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 09:26 PM   #23
clinebarger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer here
Posts: 6,255
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

On a cold engine/trans...Both gauges should read around ambient temperature or resting on the "cold" side of the gauge.
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:32 AM   #24
zellway
Registered User
 
zellway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Thats about what the gauges do. But the ground outside is aroudn 150. I have a Raytech temp gun that I check temps with also.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Erik
My 69 suburban http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=530626
1970 C10 step Project Jiminy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=682647
RUST!? Thats just mother natures way of telling all of us.....MINE!!!!
zellway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:45 AM   #25
Marv D
Registered Truck Offender
 
Marv D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: hells training ground (aka Ariz)
Posts: 3,113
Re: Anyone running this? TCI lock-up kit for 700R4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zellway View Post
Thats about what the gauges do. But the ground outside is aroudn 150. I have a Raytech temp gun that I check temps with also.
And that's no joke!! zellway I just noticed your just around the corner in Az City. In Casa Grande myself. If ya need a hand let me know, will do what I can.
__________________
Still playin with trucks, even at my age!

When you're dead, it's only a problem for the people around you, because you don't know you're dead.
.....It's kinda the same when your STUPID.


I just did my taxes and reviewed my SS statement. Thanks to the current administration it looks like I will only have to work till noon on the day of my funeral.
Marv D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com