The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2018, 10:27 PM   #1
sp690
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: crowley tx
Posts: 21
Tbi vortec swap

Ok ive read everything that i could using the search method and still have not found what i need to know , i have an 89 blazer with a tbi and im wanting to swap it with a vortec engine just for the fact that i already have one laying around and the one currently in the truck is bad. I know ill need a vortec carb intake with an adapter plate for the tbi, and changing dis gear, not worried about emmissions. What i need to know has anyone swaped this without adding anything else like a chip or messing with the fuel system, if so how did it run. Thats it thanks again. Sorry for the long story
sp690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 11:48 AM   #2
B. W.
Senior Member
 
B. W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Bigfork, Montana
Posts: 949
Re: Tbi vortec swap

GM makes a TBI vortec intake, they are very proud of it though! I've done a few, everything bolts in. I stopped using the TBI braces for the accessories than extend back & bolt to the intake. I think they make the vortec intake gaskets leak easier/quicker. Just my opinion.
B. W. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 03:03 PM   #3
sp690
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: crowley tx
Posts: 21
Re: Tbi vortec swap

B.w. thanks for your input, did you run the ones that you have swaped without a chip, if so how did they run
sp690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 12:54 AM   #4
B. W.
Senior Member
 
B. W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Bigfork, Montana
Posts: 949
Re: Tbi vortec swap

I used Dynamic EFI, EBL Flash (has since become EBL Flash II). You use a laptop to tune, can set up mild to wild.

I think with the stock Vortec cam you might get away with the stock computer but I don't know.
B. W. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 03:32 PM   #5
Acorn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winnsboro Texas
Posts: 355
Re: Tbi vortec swap

I've done this swap and here are a few things I can remember off the top of my head.
It will run like crap on the stock tune.
I also use Dynamic ebl flash. Love it. It has a ton of bells and whistles for tuning.
Your tbi fuel pump will not be enough psi. I just use am'96 vortec pump.
I run about 18 psi fuel pressure. (Compared to stock TBI that was like 11 or 12 psi. So you will need an adjustable fuel pressure regulator or a different spring in stock regulator.
Make sure you have a water pump with a bypass hose.
Everything from your '87 will bolt to the l31 block.
Use GOOD Felpro intake manifold gaskets!
I use AC Delco R44LTS spark plugs.
If I remember anything else I'll post it.
__________________
The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of a low price is forgotten.
Acorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 05:07 PM   #6
sp690
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: crowley tx
Posts: 21
Re: Tbi vortec swap

Thanks for the info, i guess i need to find someone to tune it after
the swap is complete
sp690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 01:29 PM   #7
Kudzupatch
Registered User
 
Kudzupatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: GUNTERSVILLE
Posts: 511
Re: Tbi vortec swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
.......
Your tbi fuel pump will not be enough psi. I just use am'96 vortec pump.
I run about 18 psi fuel pressure. (Compared to stock TBI that was like 11 or 12 psi. So you will need an adjustable fuel pressure regulator or a different spring in stock regulator.
Make sure you have a water pump with a bypass hose.
Everything from your '87 will bolt to the l31 block.
........
Planning on the same swap and this is pretty much what I have found after a lot of research but you will probably need a new fuel pump because stock will not generate more than 14 lbs usually.

You can use an aftermarket intake and buy/build an adapter plate.
You will have to fabricate or modify your throttle cable bracket.
You will need a new tune, engines are radically different and it's never going to run right with the existing tune.
Kudzupatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com