The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-23-2018, 06:57 PM   #1
4thgencreamsicle

Novice and wiring

I am a complete novice and am dealing with a fuse that blows every time we get the rig to turn over.
It’s a ‘69 c10 that was my great grandpa’s. I am determined to get this truck running. It’s original engine was at some point replaced with a ‘73 crate engine.

My hubby is a truck guy, currently working on his own rig. He’s happy to help me but I’d like to do most of the wrench turning on my own.

It’s a 20A fuse that comes off the battery cable. I will attempt to attach a pic, kinda awkward to do on my iPad. Hopefully it works.
Attached Images

4thgencreamsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:06 PM   #2
harpo231

Re: Novice and wiring

looks like direct current to ground
harpo231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:14 PM   #3
demian5

I don't think that is supposed to be fused. Maybe a fusible link wire instead, going to that block.
1983 K2500 Sierra Classic Suburban 6.2
Instagram: C10sofOC
demian5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:33 PM   #4
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

That should be a fuseable link. It probably burned at some point and was replaced. You can try a new one but if they didn't fix the short that caused it to burn out it may do it again. That will require doing some electrical troubleshooting. I don't have a quick link but search for wiring diagrams and start familiarizing yourself with them, you'll need to at some point so now is the time to start learning.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'