The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-19-2017, 06:24 PM   #1
kuda with the 55

Starting my 55 series 2 short bed step side

Hello everyone. My name is Kai and i'm 18 years old. I recently just closed a deal to pickup my 1955 Chevy 3100 series 2 step side in the summer. Its in relatively good condition with not a lot of problem rust and already some mods done to it. I have some ideas as to what i want to do but seeing how im only 18 i am not very experienced and have little knowledge about this truck (only that i love em). My first thing that i want to do for sure is upgrade the frame and suspension and brakes etc.. basically everything on the underside. I just want to get some advice and ideas on what i should start with and focus on and make sure is sound before i move on to other things. I eventually plan on air bagging her but thats a long ways down the road. i just want to lower her a little but now i keep rambling. again just any advice and ideas would be greatly appreciated.
kuda with the 55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 06:33 PM   #2
mongocanfly
Post Whore

Re: Starting my 55 series 2 short bed step side

18 and not a lot of experience..hmmm..most of us have been there once.. the mods you listed are not necessarily something a novice should dive into alone..if your planning on doing the work yourself I would suggest you find some builders or car clubs local to your area to help you along..these mods arnt cheap either so be prepared for sticker shock on some of these items..if the trucks drivable, lowering and driving would be a great and relativality cheap starting place..
And welcome..
mongocanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 06:36 PM   #3
kuda with the 55