The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-01-2013, 03:29 PM   #1
r!psh!tr!ot

'69 GMC Motorcycle Hauler

Hey everyone, my name is TJ and I just picked up a '69 GMC longbed last week. It caught fire right after the previous owner did a tuneup, pretty much burning only the parts he had just put on, so I practically stole it when I bought it from him. The truck isn't original at all, so I'm going to have no problems cutting/altering/modifying etc. My background is in custom motorcycles, and that is going to have a huge influence on this project.

I have a very specific idea in my head for the direction that I want to take this truck, and I think it'll be killer when it gets to that point (I know all too well that it'll never be done). I'm going to outfit this truck's bed with a wheel chock and strap-down points, and a mount for an ATV winch so that it can be used as a 'motorcycle towtruck', if you will. For the appearance and drivetrain of the truck, I want to go as period-correct to the '70s as possible. My goal is to use all pre-'79 parts, repurpose as many GM factory parts as I can (I'm already on the look out for 305 HO heads and a QuadraJet carb and intake manifold), and stick to the same processes available to a dirty biker in the '70s. I will be using a modern welder, though (I'm not that hardcore, haha).