The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 09:38 AM   #1
NGN
Registered User
 
NGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Old Bridge,NJ
Posts: 654
What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

What hardware do I need to hook up my torque converter to my flex plate, I'm pretty sure a bolt, lockwasher and nut but, and what about a washer on the bolt first, also is this specific hardware for this hookup.
Thanks Nick
NGN
NGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:52 AM   #2
maverickmk
Senior Member
 
maverickmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Altamonte Springs FL
Posts: 305
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Most torque converters (I'm going to assume TH350) have threaded holes for the bolts. They are 3/8" coarse thread 1/2" long -
https://www.classictransmissionsolut...4aAibBEALw_wcB

Or if the holes are unthreaded then these bolts with nuts are what you need -
https://www.classictransmissionsolut...AaAml4EALw_wcB
__________________
Never let facts get in the way of a good story.

1969 GMC Short Step Side
maverickmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:54 AM   #3
AZBuckHunter
Registered User
 
AZBuckHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Lakeside, AZ
Posts: 7
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

If the nuts aren't welded to the tc (torque converter) you will need the 3 nuts and 3 bolts. I've never used washers or lock washers and I don't think they come in the kits you can buy for hw.
Not a bad idea to throw some blue loctite on the bolts
AZBuckHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 11:08 AM   #4
Sheepdip
Senior Member
 
Sheepdip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Waterford California
Posts: 665
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGN View Post
What hardware do I need to hook up my torque converter to my flex plate, I'm pretty sure a bolt, lockwasher and nut but, and what about a washer on the bolt first, also is this specific hardware for this hookup.
Thanks Nick
NGN
Those bolts are a special hardness, buy the correct kit or you could shear them.
A friend years ago put hardware store grade 5 in his and sheared them while doing a burnout.

Amazon will bring them to you.

https://www.amazon.com/Spectre-Perfo...5235231&sr=8-6
Sheepdip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:29 PM   #5
71CHEVYSHORTBED402
Senior Member
 
71CHEVYSHORTBED402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 4,957
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Notes for my 71 C10 with 402/400TH. The bolts are original:

Ensure the converter spins freely until it’s mounted onto the flex plate.

If the torque converter is seated correctly after that transmission has been mounted to the engine block, then there should be an approx. 1/8” gap between the contact points on the converter and flex plate. Pull the torque converter forward to the contact points, ensure the torque converter spins in this position and then mount it.

The torque converter mounts to the flex plate using three (GR 5) 9/16" flange bolts. The bolt threads are 3/8-16 x 9/16. NOTES: One bolt is stamped "TR" and the other two are stamped "RBM". The bolts were torqued to 40 ft. lbs.
__________________
Tony

71 C10 Custom Deluxe, SWB, 2WD, fleet, 402/400TH, A/C. AKA money pit. Go figure leaf springs. Speak of leaf springs, Looking for rear OEM sport bumper brackets for this. They're unlike common, even the outer brackets differ. This takes basically "GMC" 2WD, SWB rear sport bumper brackets.

72 Cheyenne Super, LWB, fleet, C20, 402/400TH, A/C. Driver and tinker truck
71CHEVYSHORTBED402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:20 PM   #6
NGN
Registered User
 
NGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Old Bridge,NJ
Posts: 654
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71CHEVYSHORTBED402 View Post
Ensure the converter spins freely until its mounted onto the flex plate.

If the torque converter is seated correctly after that transmission has been mounted to the engine block, then there should be an approx. 1/8 gap between the contact points on the converter and flex plate. Pull the torque converter forward to the contact points, ensure the torque converter spins in this position and then mount it.
Before I put the torque converter on, I noticed there were two little metal squares all the way in the back of the input shaft. Are those just for guidance, and if so would that be the reason it doesn't spin freely?

Thanks NGN
Nick
NGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 12:23 PM   #7
71CHEVYSHORTBED402
Senior Member
 
71CHEVYSHORTBED402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 4,957
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGN View Post
Before I put the torque converter on, I noticed there were two little metal squares all the way in the back of the input shaft. Are those just for guidance, and if so would that be the reason it doesn't spin freely?

Thanks NGN
Nick
I'm not sure what you mean, can you take a picture? The TC should go on smoothly, you jiggle and spin a little bit until you feel 2-3 clicks. When it's on right you'll barely be able to put your finger (if at all) between the housing and back of TC from underneath.
__________________
Tony

71 C10 Custom Deluxe, SWB, 2WD, fleet, 402/400TH, A/C. AKA money pit. Go figure leaf springs. Speak of leaf springs, Looking for rear OEM sport bumper brackets for this. They're unlike common, even the outer brackets differ. This takes basically "GMC" 2WD, SWB rear sport bumper brackets.

72 Cheyenne Super, LWB, fleet, C20, 402/400TH, A/C. Driver and tinker truck
71CHEVYSHORTBED402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:35 PM   #8
NGN
Registered User
 
NGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Old Bridge,NJ
Posts: 654
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71CHEVYSHORTBED402 View Post
I'm not sure what you mean, can you take a picture? The TC should go on smoothly, you jiggle and spin a little bit until you feel 2-3 clicks. When it's on right you'll barely be able to put your finger (if at all) between the housing and back of TC from underneath.
I'm sorry but I can't seem to be able to post pictures. I've heard its hard from others guys as well. But anyways, yes the TC is in all the way and I can't fit my finger in between the housing and the back of the TC. And its hard to explain in a message, but what I'm trying to say is that when its all the way back and I can't fit my finger in between, should it be able to spin or do I have to move it forward for it to spin? Because mine isn't spinning right now when it's all the way back.

Thanks NGN
Nick
NGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 08:40 PM   #9
70STOVEBOLT
Broke
 
70STOVEBOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winona Lake, IN
Posts: 5,087
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Nick you should be able to spin the converter even after it is engaged with the oil pump lugs, which are the squares you are talking about. The input shaft should spin freely all the time. The TC will move fore and aft even while fully seated. I would use the correct bolts, just to be safe. They are grade 5 and flanged, as Tony stated. Hope this helps.

Mark
__________________
70 SWB 250 TH400 "The Needy Beast"
200,000 Mile Club
Drum Brake Club
Daily Driver Club
Owner installed options:
Front Sway Bar
Power Steering
Power Brakes
Cigar Lighter
Courtesy Lights
Deluxe Side Markers
Wiper Delay
70STOVEBOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 09:44 PM   #10
maverickmk
Senior Member
 
maverickmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Altamonte Springs FL
Posts: 305
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

If you cannot spin the TC you have more problems then what hardware to use. You need to get it looked at by someone that works on transmissions.
__________________
Never let facts get in the way of a good story.

1969 GMC Short Step Side
maverickmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 02:33 PM   #11
71CHEVYSHORTBED402
Senior Member
 
71CHEVYSHORTBED402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 4,957
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGN View Post
I'm sorry but I can't seem to be able to post pictures. I've heard its hard from others guys as well. But anyways, yes the TC is in all the way and I can't fit my finger in between the housing and the back of the TC. And its hard to explain in a message, but what I'm trying to say is that when its all the way back and I can't fit my finger in between, should it be able to spin or do I have to move it forward for it to spin? Because mine isn't spinning right now when it's all the way back.

Thanks NGN
Nick
I agree with the post above, have someone look at it. There's more to it than having the right TC, including proper lubrication.

Posting pictures is easy. Select Advanced mode if necessary, select the paper clip icon (attachments), select your picture, upload and save.
__________________
Tony

71 C10 Custom Deluxe, SWB, 2WD, fleet, 402/400TH, A/C. AKA money pit. Go figure leaf springs. Speak of leaf springs, Looking for rear OEM sport bumper brackets for this. They're unlike common, even the outer brackets differ. This takes basically "GMC" 2WD, SWB rear sport bumper brackets.

72 Cheyenne Super, LWB, fleet, C20, 402/400TH, A/C. Driver and tinker truck
71CHEVYSHORTBED402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 05:54 PM   #12
NGN
Registered User
 
NGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Old Bridge,NJ
Posts: 654
Re: What needed hardware, torque converter to flex plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71CHEVYSHORTBED402 View Post
Posting pictures is easy. Select Advanced mode if necessary, select the paper clip icon (attachments), select your picture, upload and save.
Thank you Tony for the help with posting pictures. I must have been doing something wrong when I was trying to put pictures up. Now I'm going to have to start gathering up pictures for my for sale ads.

Nick
NGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com