The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 99-06 GMT800 Chevy and GMC Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-26-2018, 05:12 PM   #1
blabla914

cranks but no spark - tough problem for you

Ok guys, I'm new here but I'm not new to chevy trucks. I've got a tough problem. If you can solve this one, you'll have a good story to tell.

Me: I've got lots of experience working on older cars, but no so much with this many control units. I also have the full shop manual, yes the tan one that is 5 volumes. I'm communicating using an ELM327 and DashCommand with extended GM codes.

What I've got: 2004 2500HD with the 6.0L. I bought this truck brand new. It's got 182k on it and it's been well used, but well taken care of too. Not a crappy rot box. About 7 months ago the motor was replaced with a used one with 75k on it by a pro shop. I had the dreaded oil pickup problem and didn't catch in time. Thought it was a sender issue. I was wrong .

This is where the fun begins.........

About a month after the motor install I get a flashing CEL follwed by steady CEL that occasionally starts flashing again. I pull the codes and I see P0300 misfire and P0327 Knock Sensor front. I talk to the mechanic that did the motor install and we figure used motor has a bad knock sensor. That would be my luck. I decide to keep driving it and do knock sensor when it gets warmer out. It was Feb. I clear the codes occasionally, but CEL comes back. However, now all I get is P0300. Knock sensor seems ok now and I have never seen that code again.