The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-12-2008, 08:58 AM   #1
HotRodYJ

Cross Member Drop?

Surely this has been done before but so far I've not seen where anyone else is doing it. I'm new to the lowered truck stuff so I still have allot to learn. Has anyone else ever sunk the front cross member up over the frame rails instead of Z-ing the frame? In hind site this would have been much easier to just Z like everyone else, but I like to do things a little different and thought this might look a little bit cleaner once completed. Sectioning the cross member was actually really easy to do but steering becomes a much bigger issue since now the frame is in the way. I've seen the "dropmember" that is available for purchase but why not just sink the factory cross member? If you don't go as far as I did, steering issues would be pretty much identical to what one would use with the dropmember. The Dropmember seems VERY expensive at least for my tastes, but I am a cheap kind of guy. I'll spend 2 weeks fabing something up to save a little coin.