The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-09-2019, 11:34 PM   #1
Gregski
Post Whore

Can't account for all of my timing advance, please help.

So not a total newb here, I've been running this Proform HEI distributor for almost 5 years, not looking for the Basics 101 just an explanation, ha ha

1974 Chevy C10 350 SBC with a 4 spd OD trans, 2WD short box in lime green

here it goes....

at 780 RPM base timing is 17° (no vacuum connected) and 27° with vacuum advance of 20 inHg (the highest it gets)

so far so good, this tells me the vacuum can is advancing the timing a Max of 10°

at 1,600 RPM timing is 29° (17° initial + 12° mechanical) and I'm still down with that

now this is where it gets Crazy...

at 1,600 RPM with the vacuum canister connected timing jumps to 43° (17° initial + 12° mechanical + 10° vacuum = only 39), so where did the other 4° come from?

This is exactly why I bought the MSD 6AL-2 Programmable 6530 ignition box, cause these mechanical specs are just whacked

help me understand please

Last edited by Gregski; 01-09-2019 at 11:56 PM.
Gregski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:14 AM   #2
geezer#99

Re: Can't account for all of my timing advance, please help.

Where’s the 12 mechanical come from?
I thought you locked out the time in the distributor.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:31 AM   #3
Gregski
Post Whore

Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer#99 View Post
Where’s the 12 mechanical come from?
I thought you locked out the time in the distributor.
Thank you for the rely, you may be referring to my other thread, I apologize for any confusion. In that thread I am using a different distributor (GM brand) for demonstration purposes only.