The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-15-2010, 11:40 PM   #1
magicoolbus

'57 with a story

I'm a noob to the board and I thought I would relate an interesting tale of a truck. I am in my mid forties and back when I was about 5 years old, I came to Arizona with my family to visit my uncle Jimmy. He had just aquired a 1957 Chevy 3200. It had beed well used and had just gotten a well deserved new paint job (a roller and several gallons of latex, my uncle bought it that way.) My uncle owned a garage and tow business in Mesa, AZ, called Southwest Auto and Towing, some of you old timers in AZ might remember it. This truck was destined to be a shop/parts truck.

The truck was used just like it was for many years and served the business well. When my cousin was turning 16, my uncle decided to restore the truck and bring it back to a previous glory that I really doubt it really ever had. This was in 1980.

I often visited AZ with my family and got to ride in the truck many times before and after resto. I was lucky and got to come to ASU for college in the early 80's and wanted to buy that truck so bad from my uncle, but couldn't swing the deal as you can imagine as a starving college student. In the Mid 80's my uncle sold the truck to help finance a new automotive machine shop he was buying.