The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Paint & Bodywork > Detailing

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-10-2014, 05:38 PM   #1
Senorx

Engine Degrease and Cleaning

I will be attempting to degrease and clean up my engine bay for the first time tomorrow morning. Any tips or tricks? Dos and Don'ts? Anything not to get wet? Anything not to get cleaner on? Anything that needs to be covered? I have a pressure washer too. I also purchased some "Super Clean" which I was told is like "Simple Green". I'm still a total newbie and learning as I go along. Is it weird that I'm really excited to get started?

I'm looking to replace the air filter with a K&N Filter and new top too. I'm tired of looking at what's on top right now.

Senorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:40 PM   #2
Old Truck Man

Re: Engine Degrease and Cleaning

Get rid of the clear plastic gas filter. those are a real fire hazard.
Old Truck Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:43 PM   #3
Senorx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Truck Man View Post
Get rid of the clear plastic gas filter. those are a real fire hazard.
Will do. I'll be running out to Napa in the morning and pick up a new filter. Is it a real simple install?
Old 08-10-2014, 05:57 PM   #4
67Steven

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senorx View Post
Will do. I'll be running out to Napa in the morning and pick up a new filter. Is it a real simple install?
Should just be 2 hose clamps and done. I'd replace the clamps at the same time, unless they look good/new.
Old 08-10-2014, 06:00 PM   #5
67Steven

One other item- Be careful with Castrol super clean at full strength. It will etch any unprotected aluminum surface, and strip wax off of paint. It is awesome stuff to use, though.

Just don't breathe in the mist!
Old 08-10-2014, 06:03 PM   #6
pwdcougar