The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-20-2018, 08:35 PM   #1
bozly

'71 air cleaner & manifold help

I am new to older vehicles and looking for a bit of guidance. I was lucky enough to pick up my grandpa's 1971 C10 with 350/350 combo.

Goal: install headers and have a shop fab up a dual exhaust system.

Problem: I am unsure of 2 items that are coming off the air cleaner and believe they will give me a problem when in install headers. So, I am looking for help identifiying them and finding a work around.

Yellow arrow: what is this yellow tube that runs from the air cleaner to the exhaust manifold. How does this come into play when installing aftermarket headers?

Green arrow: looks like a vacuum line that runs from the air cleaner to the side of the carb. If i need a new air cleaner to fix the above green arrow issue how does this vacuum line come into play with the carb?

Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

Attached Images

bozly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 08:56 PM   #2
geezer#99

Re: '71 air cleaner & manifold help

The yellow arrow points to the hot air tube. It’s function is to supply hot air off the manifold. You need heated air during the warm up time when you first start your motor.
The vac hose to the green arrow is a manifold vac source. The vacuum pulls a flapper door shut in the air cleaner snout. Once the motor starts to heat up, there’s a coil inside that cap that overcomes the vacuum and the flapper opens to let fresh air into the snout.
Your headers will eliminate the hot air tube. The air cleaner flapper will always stay shut ( no heat to heat the coil) and the only air to your carb will be thru that small hole when you remove the heat tube.