The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 12:09 PM   #1
csa daddy
Registered User
 
csa daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: evington,va
Posts: 1,191
attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

ok fellows i have a np 205 out from behind a turbo 350. all still together what if anything do i need to get or do to this transfer case in order for it to bolt to the 700r4.
csa daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 02:19 PM   #2
Redcap
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lewis County, WA
Posts: 1,520
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/archi.../t-362566.html
Redcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 06:41 PM   #3
olblue60@aol.com
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Silver Spring Md.20901
Posts: 2,031
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

There are two ways to go. If you choose to use the 700 r4 stock, there is a spacer available that needs to be installed on the end of the trans. This will cause you to move the 205 back and cut both driveshafts. Your column linkage will not fit.

If you are going to rebuild the 700r4, there is a new legnth shaft that can be installed in the trans. This will mean that the spacer is not needed. You can then redrill the front engine mount crossmember and move it 1 7/8 inches forward and not move the transfercase,no need to cut driveshafts and your turbo 350 column linkage will work. this will also allow much needed space if you are going to install an hei distributer.
__________________
1967 C/K10 Chevy Panel
1968 C/K20 Chevy Pickup
1968 C/K10 Chevy Suburban
1941 Chevy Sedan Delivery
1960 Chevy Sedan Delivery
1972 Camaro SS 396 #s matching
1971 Harley FX Superglide
olblue60@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 07:07 PM   #4
freakshow108
Registered User
 
freakshow108's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eatonville WA
Posts: 296
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

Quote:
Originally Posted by olblue60@aol.com View Post
There are two ways to go. If you choose to use the 700 r4 stock, there is a spacer available that needs to be installed on the end of the trans. This will cause you to move the 205 back and cut both driveshafts. Your column linkage will not fit.

If you are going to rebuild the 700r4, there is a new legnth shaft that can be installed in the trans. This will mean that the spacer is not needed. You can then redrill the front engine mount crossmember and move it 1 7/8 inches forward and not move the transfercase,no need to cut driveshafts and your turbo 350 column linkage will work. this will also allow much needed space if you are going to install an hei distributer.
X2, i did the exact setup on my 71 K20.
freakshow108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:08 AM   #5
b454rat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 3,089
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

If your interested I have the adapter mentioned above. PM me.
b454rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:22 AM   #6
csa daddy
Registered User
 
csa daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: evington,va
Posts: 1,191
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

do i need to trim any off of the tail shaft of the 700r4 to keep tail shaft from bottoming out. was told it can bottom out if you do not cut. an if you try to tighten it completely it will bust transfer case adapter.
csa daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:32 PM   #7
olblue60@aol.com
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Silver Spring Md.20901
Posts: 2,031
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

I'm not sure.
Option 1 which I did (because I had to rebuild my trans anyway, Has a new shorter shaft.
Option two, installs about a 2 inch spacer which should allow for this but since I went the other route, I'm not sure. While mocking up my chassis, I cut off the shaft before the rebuild to fit together. It cut easily with a cutoff wheel if you should need. I remember other threads in the past with information about the spacer installation.Perhaps you can do a "search" for them< or maybe some help from another member.
__________________
1967 C/K10 Chevy Panel
1968 C/K20 Chevy Pickup
1968 C/K10 Chevy Suburban
1941 Chevy Sedan Delivery
1960 Chevy Sedan Delivery
1972 Camaro SS 396 #s matching
1971 Harley FX Superglide
olblue60@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 07:58 AM   #8
csa daddy
Registered User
 
csa daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: evington,va
Posts: 1,191
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

i searched thats why i have the question. i seen somebody else talking about it
csa daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:43 AM   #9
1malo68
Registered User
 
1malo68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost Wages, NV
Posts: 201
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

Try this thread

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=128495
__________________
1968 K10/30
Frame Off Project "Overkill"
My 5 year, $30,000.00 toy
1malo68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:49 AM   #10
s_nova69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: slc, ut
Posts: 318
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

I put a np205 behind a 700r4. I had to buy the Advanced adapters 700r4 output shaft and marriage plate. In hind site I should have moved the engine and trans forward 1.825" instead of cutting new drivelines. I do not think you can just cut the gm output shaft for this to work with a np205. My setup worked really well overall. I had 4.11's w 35's and it cruised at 2100 on the freeway at 65 mph. Good luck.
__________________
Phil
'70 Longhorn 421 700r4 tach 4 wheel disc hydroboost daily driver
'72 short super build
4wd '72 Suburban LT4 coming soon!!
s_nova69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:01 PM   #11
JMac11
Registered User
 
JMac11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tallahassee Fl
Posts: 707
Re: attaching a np 205 to a 700r4

Yes you can just cut the shaft, just make sure the shaft is machined far enough up the shaft to engage completely. My transmission guy did mine this way, took some filing and grding to make it fit just right.
JMac11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com