The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2023, 12:02 PM   #1
pmagrum
Registered User
 
pmagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lakelane, Fl
Posts: 4
temp send unit?

Trying with no success to replace temp send unit 1982 C10 silverado 305 H engine with gauges Made in Canada Engine is blue not chevy red old unit is nail head design have had the truck since 20 k so i feel that it is original,
was given a standard part TS6 Gauge read proper with boiling water and thermometer BUT the physical size for entry to block was too big. Any suggestions Please
Attached Images
 
pmagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2023, 11:48 PM   #2
dmjlambert
Senior Member
 
dmjlambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,958
Re: temp send unit?

It may be possible to have a machinist turn and re-thread the sender to fit the smaller threaded hole, works for the issue in 67-72 trucks. In my case for my 1969 truck the sender to work with stock gauge was part number is G1852 that looks very similar to your TS6. https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/...d.php?t=703388
dmjlambert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2023, 12:18 AM   #3
franken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 2,982
Re: temp send unit?

NAPA says they have one for that truck but it doesn't look like the one in your pic.
franken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 09:39 AM   #4
TKCR
Senior Member
 
TKCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6,514
Re: temp send unit?

Had that same issue with mine. I got an adapter from Lowes.
Attached Images
 
TKCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 10:18 AM   #5
pmagrum
Registered User
 
pmagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lakelane, Fl
Posts: 4
Re: temp send unit?

thanks for the reply thought about this. It takes it out of the water flow. did it effect the temp readings any when you did this?
pmagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 10:41 AM   #6
TKCR
Senior Member
 
TKCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6,514
Re: temp send unit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmagrum View Post
thanks for the reply thought about this. It takes it out of the water flow. did it effect the temp readings any when you did this?
No problems at all. Here’s a close up pic.
Wish I had a picture of the sensor with the adapter before I installed it. The adapter did not change the depth of the sensor itself in the block. All it did was make the correct size of the new sensor to fit into the block.
Attached Images
 
TKCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 11:35 AM   #7
pmagrum
Registered User
 
pmagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lakelane, Fl
Posts: 4
Re: temp send unit?

do you remember if you used a ts6 sensor. that one worked with my gauges (using ground wire , boiling water and a meat thermometer) size was the problem larger thread diam than the original
pmagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 12:18 PM   #8
TKCR
Senior Member
 
TKCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6,514
Re: temp send unit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmagrum View Post
do you remember if you used a ts6 sensor. that one worked with my gauges (using ground wire , boiling water and a meat thermometer) size was the problem larger thread diam than the original
Cant say for sure unless I looked up the info. It was 7-8 years ago when I did this. But it is the correct one for my engine and temp gauge, which is stock. The PO had an aftermarket sensor & gauge. But I went back to using the original. There was nothing wrong with the temp gauge, so Im not sure why he went with an aftermarket one. It was mounted to the bottom of the dash.
I also found this picture of all the stock temp sensors.
Attached Images
  
TKCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 03:00 PM   #9
pmagrum
Registered User
 
pmagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lakelane, Fl
Posts: 4
Re: temp send unit?

Gona get adapter tomorrow and try that. Thanks for your time and photos. Looked at your website. Your work looks great Saved it for when I get to that area
Thanks again
pmagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2022 67-72chevytrucks.com