The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-27-2018, 09:57 PM   #1
Tkrysl

Brake light on the dash- help needed

Okay guys I have my first cry for help.

Out of all the things that I had to do on my 72 C15 to get it to pass safety inspection I'm down to the final thing and I cannot figure out how to get this brake light off my dashboard.

The safety inspector failed me because he said my "master cylinder gasket was swelled" and I have the red light on the dashboard. He told me I needed a new master cylinder to get that light to go off.

I replaced the master cylinder with a new one put new rotors and pads and calipers and shoes on the back. I'm a Noob at this so if you have any advice on why that red brake light is on I am all ears because I have to have this thing reinspected Monday morning.

Thanks!
Tkrysl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 10:07 PM   #2
AussieinNC

Re: Brake light on the dash- help needed

There is a brake bias valve that has a trip switch built into it...the switch has tripped due to brake fluid loss on one of the circuits...

Follow your brake pipes down from the master cylinder until you find a small cylinder like valve mechanism with brake pipes going in and out..
There will be a wire on a switch that screws into the body of the valve ...remove the wire and the light will go off...

BUT...remove the switch and you will hear a click...that's the bias valve re-seating...screw the switch back in and replace the wire..

The light should stay off...

Last edited by AussieinNC; 07-27-2018 at 10:18 PM.
AussieinNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 11:26 PM   #3
Tkrysl