The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-22-2018, 11:52 AM   #1
Thebrownturd

4x4 Transmission rebuild

Can anyone point me in the right direction for a th350 rebuild kit? There are so many options I would like to know if anyone has had good luck with any kits and if there is any I should stay away from.

The truck is a 3/4 ton 4x4, with a stock 350 motor and will see towing duty and off roading.

I am also not sure what stall speed for my torque converter to get. This is my first time working on a transmission.

So far I've read about upgrading the rear sprag/roller clutch from a 4l60 to spread out the stress a little better.

Not sure if staying stock or getting some kind of shift kit would benefit me in any way?

I know its a lot of questions but any input is appreciated so I can move on to buy the parts I need and get the tranny back in before the snow flies. Thanks
Thebrownturd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 12:09 PM   #2
mongocanfly
Post Whore

Re: 4x4 Transmission rebuild

It's been along time since I've rebuilt a auto trans..but I always used b&m kits with good luck...as far a stall ,unless your building a big cam engine a stock converter should be fine...

RIP Dad
RIP Jesse

1981 C30 LQ9 NV4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
Mongos AD- LS3 TR6060...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...34#post8522334
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563
2023 Chevy Z71..daily driver
mongocanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 02:35 PM   #3
Thebrownturd

What would the factory stall speed for a 350/350/np205 and 4:10 gears be then? I can't seem to find that info anywhere
Old 09-22-2018, 07:59 PM   #4
sweetk30

do a transtar reman kit .