The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-25-2016, 11:27 AM   #1
BigTom209

Newbie: Looking for advice which of my S10 donors to use and direction for project

Hey guys, newbie here and I have to say I love trolling this site looking at your builds, so many ideas and amazing talent!

I've been fixing/flipping vehicles on the side for years and honestly I'm just getting tired of it, I said last year I wanted to build something for myself and started looking around the farm for any possible ideas. Well, we have (3) late 40's or early 50's GMC 3/4 or 1 tonne grain trucks in various states but cab/font end wise they are all decent. And being my father was a GM mechanic most his life I thought it fitting to build up a GM truck!

So I have the old metal, needed to figure out what I wanted to do with it. I wanted stupid amounts of power, but reliable... so I came across a 2007.5 GMC 3500HD with a 6L LY6 Vortec motor and got the whole truck cheap because it was wrecked, still drove it nearly 100 miles out to the farm though! I couldn't find a "cheap" 2WD 6L90 transmission that would allow me to use my factory ECM to control it so I sold the 4WD one that came with the truck and picked up a 2WD 4L80, may end up buying a standalone controller for it or else possibly turning it into a full manual shift not sure quite yet. I also have a Ford 9" rear end in one of the old wrecked trucks at the farm I might swipe or a good buddy of mine has a '99 Camaro rear end with 4.11 aftermarket gears he'd let me have super cheap