The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2015, 09:22 PM   #201
47owner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: west covina ca
Posts: 66
Re: S10 Swap how to

Great info. I have 1947 long bed, had it 15 years, getting tired of fixing up old parts. The S10 swap sound like the way to go for me. Could I use the 4.3 V6, if so, do I need to move it? What about all that smog stuff on it, can it get discarded?
47owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 02:13 PM   #202
tlorber
Registered User
 
tlorber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 230
Re: S10 Swap how to

There are a lot of people that just use the original S10 motor-you MAY need to slide it back a bit, since the AD cabs sit rear of where the S10 cabs sit, which may cause a conflict with the fan and the radiator.

If you are going to use the registration of your '47 (i.e. DMV won't know that you have swapped power train and frame) then you do not need to worry about keeping the vehicle smog compliant. Depending upon the year of the S10, it may still need the front Oxygen Sensors to run the engine, but the rear ones (which provide the ECM information to regulate the emissions) will not be necessary.
tlorber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 02:33 PM   #203
T-P Auto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grants New Mexico
Posts: 585
Re: S10 Swap how to

Hello;

47owner;

If you use a S-10 frame, it would be best to set the cab n fender on the frame n center the front wheels over the front fenders.
That will let you see just where to set you radiator at on the S-10 frame.
Ck out my build(Frankenstine) to see what you may run into if you dont do some thinking ahead of time.
Just try to give you a heads up on your project.
Also if you want to keep the running boards then make sure to read several project on the cab mounts.
Just want you to have a good time doing your project.

T-P Auto
Tim
T-P Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 07:15 PM   #204
Coldshot
Registered User
 
Coldshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Langley B.C
Posts: 179
Re: S10 Swap how to

I've made your mounts, nice and easy from your plans.
Front(painted) rear
Coldshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 04:46 AM   #205
47owner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: west covina ca
Posts: 66
Re: S10 Swap how to

Thanks for the advice. I will set the location of the wheels, hopefully I won't have to move the engine back.
47owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:30 PM   #206
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

Sorry all. For some reason I quit getting notifications for this thread. Always feel free to PM me if you dont get an answer to your questions in a timely manner!

Coldshot; mounts look great! I'm glad the instructions are easy to follow. I'm hoping to encourage more folks to build thier own, vs. Buying one size fits all (they just don't) kits. ROCK ON!

47owner; sure yo can use the S10 4.3L. You can even use the stock ECM and harness (as long as it doesn't have VATs (must be 93 and older). Look at Todd F's build for details. You will definately need to move the motor back between 5 and 6 inches. A good reference to remember is that the core support will basically sit directly above the cap on the power steering box. I always build cab mounts, tack them on, set the cab on, drop the front cab mount bolts in the holes, then nestle the driveline in leaving about 1.5 - 2 inches between the distributor and the firewall. I hope that helps.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:32 PM   #207
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

Oh, and on the smog... I always toss it, but being from CA, I would say it would be wise to check local laws before you do. You will need to keep the O2, coolant temp, and knock sensor if you are re-using an ECM throttle body or MPFI setup.

If you follow the instructions on this thread, you wheels will be centered in the wheel wells.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 04:53 AM   #208
47owner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: west covina ca
Posts: 66
Re: S10 Swap how to

Thanks for the information.
47owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:08 PM   #209
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

Sure thing.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 04:58 PM   #210
Garyhenrich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Black Diamond, WA
Posts: 53
Re: S10 Swap how to

First, a big thanks for all this info. I have been following your plan through, cab forward is all in place, steering, brakes, throttle all per your directions. My 350 runs like a top. Just installing a complete new wiring harness, where do you prefer to mount the battery? I would like to get it out of the engine compartment and not under the front passenger seat. I have not started on the bed yet so I'm totally flexible to a location out back. Any suggestions?
Garyhenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 09:52 PM   #211
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

I usually mount the battery behind the seat (far pass side on 47-50, and centered on 51-54. You will need 8ft of battery cable (I use red 4 gauge). Problem with under bed mounting it is access.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:20 PM   #212
Coldshot
Registered User
 
Coldshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Langley B.C
Posts: 179
Re: S10 Swap how to

I just finished bolting my cab up for the first time with your instruction. I'm using energy suspension poly mounts and its lined up perfect. But there's one part I know I read but need a little help in. The shims or spacers for the back cab mounts (I have a 51 cab) you say 1/2" delron spacers? Just not sure what or where to get those. Or can I just make 1/2" shims and put them between the mount and cab?
Thanks
Coldshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 03:21 AM   #213
47owner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: west covina ca
Posts: 66
Re: S10 Swap how to

I found these on line
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/2612770...lpid=82&chn=ps
47owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 06:02 AM   #214
chuckmc8
It's alsways something.....
 
chuckmc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 1,172
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote, "A good reference to remember is that the core support will basically sit directly above the cap on the power steering box."

This is a valuable piece of information and a great reference point. Thanks!
__________________
1968 RS Camaro 'Vert Matching number 327 and M21 Muncie
1968 C10 Black with red interior and orig paint. 5.3 / 4l60e,3:73 POSI 17" Torq Thrusts
1968 CST 514 Red with black interior. Buddy Buckets, Factory A/C, PS, PB- 20" AR custom shop TT, 5.3 and 4l60e
chuckmc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 09:47 AM   #215
Coldshot
Registered User
 
Coldshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Langley B.C
Posts: 179
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by 47owner View Post
Wow I feel a bit dimwitted lol. That's not what I pictured and I'm sure that took 2 seconds to find.
Thanks
Coldshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 09:58 PM   #216
47owner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: west covina ca
Posts: 66
Re: S10 Swap how to

Glad I could help, its the least I can do given all the great info I'm getting.
47owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 07:39 PM   #217
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

Lol... yup, ebay is a great source for the little stuff! I also get my radiator cushions there. I'm very glad that you guys are finding this thread helpful... sharing what little info we have is win/win!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 11:18 AM   #218
mark be
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: oregon
Posts: 54
Re: S10 Swap how to

My grandson and I just put the cab on frame yesterday following your plan. I've had the s10 frame for a couple of years and the body off the '51 frame for 5 or more years just never got any further 'til he showed up and sez lets build that truck, having a great time and it's going so smoothly with your plan.
Thank you very much I've been reading and studying threads for years and yours is the chit.
Mark
mark be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 05:10 PM   #219
marcot20025
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: mcallen tx
Posts: 4
Re: S10 Swap how to

Hello, I'm at the point of making the cabs mounts, mine is a 53 chevy cab, would I be able to just add shims or is there a specific height that I need sorry for the question just any help would be appreciated marco
marcot20025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:47 PM   #220
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

Mark be; very glad to hear you are building a truck with you grandson! That's just how it should be! Any questions along the way, don't hesitate to ask!

Marcott; the reason for the delron spacers is that the sub framing is too narrow for the s10 bushings to seat properly. Once you hold the bushing up to the bottom of the cab, you will see what I mean. The spacer can be made of steel, but given the thickness, a DeLeon spacer is a simpler and more cost effecttive option. Hope that helps.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:53 PM   #221
marcot20025
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: mcallen tx
Posts: 4
Re: S10 Swap how to

Do you have the dimensions for the mounts?
marcot20025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 12:58 AM   #222
ghettoluxury
Registered User
 
ghettoluxury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waynesfield Ohio
Posts: 1,985
Re: S10 Swap how to

All of the demensions are on the first page as attachments. You will have to click on them to open.
__________________

1949 Five Window, 1973 Step Side, 2000 Z71
ghettoluxury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 11:21 PM   #223
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,688
Re: S10 Swap how to

Ayup... What ghetto luxury said...

I have a new tip I just figured out. Instead of using the DeLeon spacer and cutting the rear mounts 1\2" shorter on the 51-54 cabs, you can make them normal height, and use the s10 core support bushings instead. They are smaller diameter than the cab bushings, and will tuck right into the 51-54 rear cab brace.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 11:43 PM   #224
Coldshot
Registered User
 
Coldshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Langley B.C
Posts: 179
Re: S10 Swap how to

I actually just found that out last week too. I bought the energy suspension body mount kit and used those ones but still had to use the spacers.
Coldshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 08:04 AM   #225
Sim6
Registered User
 
Sim6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Centerton, AR
Posts: 405
Re: S10 Swap how to

Skymangs,
Are you a regular on the ultimate adventure? Or are you a reader?
Sim6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com