The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Tools, Shops and Shop Safety

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2017, 01:40 PM   #1
64stpside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: old hickory, tn
Posts: 83
anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

I thought I would take a shot and post here to see if anyone else has done this.
I'm getting a 60 gal a compressor in the next few weeks and have told if I have the right gauge wire, I can just connect the compressor to my clothes dryer plug when not using the dryer. I might configure my garage differently later on and don't want the compressor married to a particular spot in there by having an electrician installing an outlet close to where the compressor will be now.
64stpside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 02:31 PM   #2
blown240
Registered User
 
blown240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 765
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Clothes dryer plugs are usually 30amp 220v.

Is your compressor 110v or 220v and how many amps does it pull?
__________________
'61 Panel - Helms Bakery Truck - Daily Driver - FOR SALE
blown240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:34 PM   #3
f66
New Member
 
f66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: columbia, maryland
Posts: 12
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

If you buy a typical 220v compressor, the dryer plug outlet will work fine. I did this for yrs with a 60 gallon Craftsman compressor before I got a shop wired for 220 and a dedicated plug. You can PM w/the specs of the compressor and Can confirm the dryer plug will work. Frank
f66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 07:41 PM   #4
aerotruk63
Check The Champ, Demonstrator
 
aerotruk63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal,Quebec
Posts: 5,924
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

My Dad has all his stuff on stove plugs. This way wherever he goes the one plug fits all. Illegal but then who's checking. Insurance company might not be happy if there's ever a fire.
__________________
aerotruk63@gmail.com

1963 Chevrolet Truck Literature
LINK: https://picasaweb.google.com/113840717762774560215

YouTube Channel with 20+ Original Chevrolet Truck Salesmen, Mechanics & Service Department Training Slideshows.
https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...otruk63&page=1
aerotruk63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 07:53 PM   #5
jayoldschool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 1,349
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

I use a welding plug in my garage.
jayoldschool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 07:54 PM   #6
nail pounder
Registered User
 
nail pounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Fallbrook CA
Posts: 310
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by f66 View Post
If you buy a typical 220v compressor, the dryer plug outlet will work fine. I did this for yrs with a 60 gallon Craftsman compressor before I got a shop wired for 220 and a dedicated plug. You can PM w/the specs of the compressor and Can confirm the dryer plug will work. Frank
X2. Keep in mind you have unlimited power coming to your house. It's not too difficult to run conduit and wire and set up a sub panel in your shop or garage. I'm pretty sure you can YouTube that kind of thing. I'm just a dumb ol carpenter and I did it, cost me like 150$ in materials, and I left room to add stuff down the road.
Attached Images
 
nail pounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 08:55 PM   #7
nail pounder
Registered User
 
nail pounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Fallbrook CA
Posts: 310
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nail pounder View Post
X2. Keep in mind you have unlimited power coming to your house. It's not too difficult to run conduit and wire and set up a sub panel in your shop or garage. I'm pretty sure you can YouTube that kind of thing. I'm just a dumb ol carpenter and I did it, cost me like 150$ in materials, and I left room to add stuff down the road.
I re-read what I wrote & I want to be clear, I'm not talking about stealing power, I meant after your meter, just tap into your main panel to run a sub.
nail pounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 09:03 PM   #8
Palf70Step
State of Confusion!

 
Palf70Step's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Gulfport, MS USA
Posts: 35,771
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

My 60 gal, 5hp 220V compressor is on 30 amp connection. You should be able to see the plug I used when we built the shop. Its been 12 years and no issues with that rating.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Bill
"Old Mule" 1964 Chevy C10 BBW Short Fleet (350/3 Spd)
"Whitey" 2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 SWB W/T
Member of Louisiana Classic Truck Club (LCTC)
Board Vendors
Bill's Gallery
Life isn't tied with a bow, but it's still a gift.
Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God!
Palf70Step is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 10:47 PM   #9
jjzepplin
Registered User
 
jjzepplin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Riverview Florida
Posts: 2,889
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

I run mine on a dryer plug. I had my laundry out in the garage at one point and put it all inside for the wifey! I use the old garage spot for the compressor. I changed the breaker in the box to the correct amps for the motor on my compressor. Ran the stink out of it when I chiseled all the Chattahoochee pebbles off my pool patio.
__________________
I wish I found this site when I was 19 and bought my first 72.
It's just another big pretty scar.
70 swb 4x4 406sbc 700r4 203/205 d60/14blt locker yadda yadda http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...88#post6935688
72 Blazer 2wd conversion project "No Daggum Money" http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=550804 3.73 posi-4-speed Saginaw-307-no budget build.
jjzepplin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:14 AM   #10
mongocanfly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: alabama
Posts: 2,982
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

I'm running my welder, plasma, air compressor, and clothes dryer that's in my shop of all the same style dryer plugs...220v 30a..
Attached Images
 
mongocanfly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:02 AM   #11
drfloyd
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Scranton, SC
Posts: 177
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

As long as voltages match and you have the proper amperage for the device, plug and receptacle you can do what you are describing. One thing to be aware of is that in many jurisdictions a 4 wire setup is required for a dryer and in some only a 3 wire is required, especially if it is an old installation.That means that on the 4 wire setup you will have 2 phase legs or hot wires, a neutral and a ground. For a 220V compressor the neutral is not needed, only the hot wires and the ground. If you are doing this yourself just be careful and make sure you have it wired properly before you close the breaker. If you aren't sure ask us.
drfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 10:14 AM   #12
64stpside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: old hickory, tn
Posts: 83
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Thanks for the info guys, I'll get some specs and we'll go from there.
64stpside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 10:16 AM   #13
64stpside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: old hickory, tn
Posts: 83
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drfloyd View Post
As long as voltages match and you have the proper amperage for the device, plug and receptacle you can do what you are describing. One thing to be aware of is that in many jurisdictions a 4 wire setup is required for a dryer and in some only a 3 wire is required, especially if it is an old installation.That means that on the 4 wire setup you will have 2 phase legs or hot wires, a neutral and a ground. For a 220V compressor the neutral is not needed, only the hot wires and the ground. If you are doing this yourself just be careful and make sure you have it wired properly before you close the breaker. If you aren't sure ask us.
The house was built in 1976 so i'll have to do some checking......
64stpside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 03:08 PM   #14
T2vigil
Registered User
 
T2vigil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evensville, TN
Posts: 206
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Just to be clear the breaker is supposed to protect the wire/cable that it is connected to. As long as the device that is plugged into the receptacle is rated at the breaker value or less it is OK. You can connect your twenty amp compressor to a fifty amp plug, correctly wired, with the right fifty amp plug and you are legal and safe.
T2vigil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 08:03 AM   #15
64stpside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: old hickory, tn
Posts: 83
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

Here are my dryer circuit specs:
-breaker 30 amps
-plug 30 amp 125/250V

I think I should meet most compressor's specs as I only want a 60 gallon.
I've seen several compressors rated at 15A, 220V.
64stpside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 11:32 PM   #16
1958Warrior
Registered User
 
1958Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mesquite,Tx
Posts: 399
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

I have my washer and 220v elect.dryer in the garage, Have my 60 gal. compressor right next to the dryer, I use a dryer cord for my compressor, just unplug the dryer and plug in the compressor. I also use one on my 220v mig welder, made a extension cord out of romex , added a dryer outlet receptical on one end (surface mount box type) and used a dryer cord at the other end, that way I can use the welder all the way out near the end of the driveway if needed.
Got the dryer cords free off old dryers, most people throw them out with their old dryers.
Never realy have a problem ,just every now and then have to unplug the welder and plug the compressor in to fill back up when doing a lot of grinding with the die grinder, just go get another beer and 3 min later go back to welding.
1958Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 10:00 AM   #17
johanliam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Washington DC USA
Posts: 1
Re: anyone using a clothes dryer plug to run their air compressor?

I am not sure how it is done but my dad used to do this, not sure why stopped.
_________________________________
Pest Control washington DC
johanliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com