The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > The 1973 - 1991 Blazers, Jimmys, and Suburbans Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-31-2005, 03:52 PM   #1
WAXER

Lift Kit

Hi guys, newbie here and looking for answers. Just bought a 1991, 4wd, 1500 burb w/350 auto. Looking to put a 4in lift (no blocks) and bigger tires. What kind of drive-train problems can I expect changing the angle of the components by that amount? If I put a new steering arm and stablizer on along with the kit, will I need to beef up the frame or steering box (only being a 1/2 ton)? Any suggestions on brand name? What would be the max size tire for a lift of that height? Anyone here do the same thing?
Thanks,
Scott, Maryland
WAXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 06:10 PM   #2
Jonboy
Slots go on anything!

Pro comp makes a nice lift kit for the price. Check out the 4 wheel parts wholesalers ad in something like 4 wheel and off road mag. They usually have a big ad. On the newer trucks, 35's should not be a problem with a 4" lift. That Sub should have dual shocks on the front, which would help. If you are doing more extreme stuff, you might want to consider 33's.

Adding the steering box brace probably would not be a bad idea, but probably not mandatory, either. Another thing to consider is gear ratio. 4.11 would probably be the absolute minimum for 35's. I would suggest 4.56's, though.
Old 04-13-2005, 10:21 PM   #3
special-K
Special Order