The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-02-2017, 08:00 AM   #1
MoFire

Task Force series, engine to hood clearance?

Hey all, new to the forum. I've got a '55 Chev big window. And I'm curious to how much room is under that big ol hood I'm just starting the project, but I've got a buddy with a 502ci with 871 blower and dual 950 carbs (no air filter or intake installed yet). This is my first project so I don't have much experience yet.
Does anybody know or have a similar build, I'm curious if the hood would fit without cutting it?

Thanks in advance
Posted via Mobile Device
Attached Images

MoFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017, 08:31 AM   #2
Speedbumpauto

Re: Task Force series, engine to hood clearance?

Not sure how tall an 8-71 is but this tunnel ram fits under mine but only with
3" air cleaner. Don't know if it's apples to apples since I used a Camaro clip. I think it's do-able but it will be tight.
Attached Images

Speedbumpauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017, 09:17 AM   #3
MoFire

Thanks for responding. The pic of yours helps visually!

Has anybody, (or if someone has the time) know the actual measurement?
I'm up at work out of province away from home. And said buddy of mine lives a few provinces over. Complicating my inquiry I know.
Old 04-02-2017, 03:28 PM   #4
OrrieG

Don't know the measurements, but there was a guy that drove around a TF with blower setup and stock hood. It was a 58 he used the inboard headlight openings for cold air intake.
OrrieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017, 06:10 PM   #5
Stepside Jim

Doesn't answer all your questions but gives a view of a big block with a blower under the hood.