The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2016, 11:34 AM   #76
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

I will be starting a for sale thread soon over in the parts board to be on the up.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 11:37 AM   #77
roll_the_dice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 73
Re: My tach install thread

Are you going to take people from this thread over or do we all have to say we want one again?
roll_the_dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:07 PM   #78
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

I have just made a list of people interested and am starting with those that have asked from this thread and and have PM'd me in the past. It all goes on the date they have asked. I will post that list when i start the "for sale" thread. I will continue to make these brackets as time allows. I hope all will be patient with this process as it may be a little slow.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:11 PM   #79
roll_the_dice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 73
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rideblue00 View Post
I have just made a list of people interested and am starting with those that have asked from this thread and and have PM'd me in the past. It all goes on the date they have asked. I will post that list when i start the "for sale" thread. I will continue to make these brackets as time allows. I hope all will be patient with this process as it may be a little slow.
Sounds good. Thanks
roll_the_dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:30 PM   #80
dracko
Registered User
 
dracko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 537
Re: My tach install thread

Right on man! Stoked to get the tach off my steering column.
dracko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 08:44 PM   #81
TBONE1964
Cluster King
 
TBONE1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 4,467
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by neslie View Post
Lmc list a tach conversion kit on page 73 of the catalog. Said it's for trucks that didn't come with the tach in the factory cluster.
That is a 5K tach that is a direct replacement for the factory tach. It does not need any modification to install.

Take care,
Tom
TBONE1964 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 08:49 PM   #82
TBONE1964
Cluster King
 
TBONE1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 4,467
Re: My tach install thread

I have used the same tach and used two factory back plates to make one. The result was as close to looking factory as you can get. I know a lot of you are not worried about the back side.

Also the chrome plate and lens on the Sun tach front does come off to give more of a factory appearance.

Good idea making the adapter plates for easy installation. You have done your homework well

Take care,
Tom
TBONE1964 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 11:11 AM   #83
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Looking for some info on the overspeed hole. It appears as though the light socket may be a bigger diameter? My bulb holder does not fit in the overspeed hole location. Anyone have any confirmation of this? I am making mods to my tach bracket for this hole and need to know what size to make the hole. Currently i will make it the same as the other light socket hole, but am thinking it may need to be bigger. Hopefully one of you members can help me out. Thanks Guys

Last edited by rideblue00; 08-23-2016 at 11:52 AM.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 11:51 AM   #84
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Anybody anybody?
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 01:47 AM   #85
TBONE1964
Cluster King
 
TBONE1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 4,467
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rideblue00 View Post
Anybody anybody?
Does your truck actually have the over speed indicator and is it wired in the light harness?

I believe (not 100% sure) that the only trucks that used over speed were the C-40 / C-60's.

I have restored over 50 of these clusters over the years and from what I can tell, if the cluster was in a C10 - C30, the hole is covered with tape. I have never seen a harness as of yet with the actual over speed light socket attached.

If the socket hole is a different size, it is hard to see by looking at it. Do you have a photo of what you are working with?

Hope this helps,
Tom
TBONE1964 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 11:57 AM   #86
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

I have the deluxe gauges and it did have tape over it. I cant find any pics of a harness with that socket in place. I was actually just trying the turn signal socket in that hole and its too small. The overspeed hole appears bigger. Im not sure a pic would do anything as they are all the same as far as i know. I was hoping a fellow member had a picture with an overspeed light socket and a dimension of it.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 05:33 PM   #87
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

ttt
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2016, 10:27 PM   #88
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

ttt, anyone?
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 02:29 PM   #89
Kenfuzed
Senior Member
 
Kenfuzed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Glendora CA -> Tampa FL
Posts: 583
Re: My tach install thread

Dry fitted the bracket I received on my gauge cluster. Curious why the outer edge was left with this arching shape leaving an overhanging lip sticking out, instead of shaping it to the contour of the gauge cluster's shell?

Those who have purchased this, did you have to trim this before installing the cluster back into the dash?
Attached Images
   
__________________
1966 C10 Short Fleetside
1988 Sportster, 2008 Street Glide

Ken's 1966 C10 build "Red Ale"
Follow on Instgram: @cv_performance
https://instagram.com/cv_performance
Harley Performance Parts: CV Performance (Harley related)
Enjoying the ride!
Kenfuzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 03:42 PM   #90
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

That extra material was not a problem for mine and any of the other guys that have bought them from me. I am not all that great with CAD yet and haven't designed it to be flush. I had no clearance issues, so i left it round.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 02:27 AM   #91
Kenfuzed
Senior Member
 
Kenfuzed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Glendora CA -> Tampa FL
Posts: 583
Re: My tach install thread

Ok I'll just trim it off. It seemed like it might be protruding out a bit far when it comes time to installing and I don't want to risk scratching the newly painted dash. Maybe the reshaped edge can be your version 2.0. That's just my creative input since this is a new design, not meant to bag on your design.
__________________
1966 C10 Short Fleetside
1988 Sportster, 2008 Street Glide

Ken's 1966 C10 build "Red Ale"
Follow on Instgram: @cv_performance
https://instagram.com/cv_performance
Harley Performance Parts: CV Performance (Harley related)
Enjoying the ride!
Kenfuzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 12:15 PM   #92
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Anyone have any info on the overspeed hole? Look back to my post #83. Thanks
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 10:37 AM   #93
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Anyone have any info on the overspeed hole? Look back to my post #83. Thanks
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:49 AM   #94
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Anyone have any info on the overspeed hole? Look back to my post #83. Thanks
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 03:02 PM   #95
Blu64c10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oakdale, Ny
Posts: 68
Re: My tach install thread

Is anyone using the Bosch Retro Tach with an MSD ignition? I'm curious if the tachs still operate correctly with multi spark ignitions.
Blu64c10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 01:31 PM   #96
63frankintruck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Keller, tx
Posts: 292
Re: My tach install thread

Are you going to make these to fit 63 instrment clusters?
63frankintruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 01:56 PM   #97
stans65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Morgan Hill
Posts: 26
Re: My tach install thread

In looking at the thread, do not see stans65. I asked to buy a while ago. Am I on the unpublished list?
stans65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 03:23 PM   #98
stans65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Morgan Hill
Posts: 26
Re: My tach install thread

FYI, I have just installed a Pertronix pointless distributor system 1162A with a Pertronix Flamethrower coil 40511. Called Bosch to make sure the FST8050 retro tach would work with it. They said tach needs a 5 volt square wave on neg. Called Pertronix and they said it puts out a modified square wave. Bottom line, will not work but I could try.

Was looking forward to installing a tach in my dash, looks like I will have to make room for someone else on your list, unless someone has a solution.
stans65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 04:35 PM   #99
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Stans65 please see post #63 in the for sale thread
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 04:39 PM   #100
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,577
Re: My tach install thread

Good info on the square wave signal Stans65, I'm not at all familiar with what distributors will work and what won't. I have a Mallory pointless and i actually don't know if it works because my engine isn't running yet.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com