The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2017, 09:55 PM   #151
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

Excellent! There are actually three SMD LEDs for illumination. I should be all set!

As a side note, the interior sure is messy. Lots of solder flux and even a layer of dust on large capacitors. I gently put the shop air to it and I'm sure I saw some debris flying off of it!
Attached Images
 
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 09:58 PM   #152
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

BTW, how did you fabricate/form the mounting ring on your early prototype that the back of tach actually mounts to?

Ever find a clock?
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 10:34 PM   #153
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,596
Re: My tach install thread

I currently have a 63 cluster I'm installing a tach in for a customer and i was going to use black RTV to seal the rubber gasket to the housing.

As far as the prototype, i cut the ring in the lathe and had the plate with the holes plasma cut. The reason i changed the process was because it was too consuming to make that small ring. Was easier to machine it from one pc of aluminum.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 10:39 PM   #154
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,596
Re: My tach install thread

I'm thinking your tach was assembled wrong. when you take those 2 nuts off the back, its supposed to separate. Thats how you wire it. So yours was totally crimped together?
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 10:42 PM   #155
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,596
Re: My tach install thread

I have not put any more time into finding a clock. I found a guy on ebay selling clusters with clocks and i asked him some questions about them...he said they were super special made and cost $300. I'm skeptical, but ok to each his own.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 12:58 AM   #156
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rideblue00 View Post
I'm thinking your tach was assembled wrong. when you take those 2 nuts off the back, its supposed to separate. Thats how you wire it. So yours was totally crimped together?
Yep, totally and permanently assembled. At least until I got a hold of it. I bought it from Amazon. I'm gonna see about getting the word out by giving a review that there may be a bad batch of them on the shelf.
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 11:16 AM   #157
roll_the_dice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 73
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by damnyankee36 View Post
Yep, totally and permanently assembled. At least until I got a hold of it. I bought it from Amazon. I'm gonna see about getting the word out by giving a review that there may be a bad batch of them on the shelf.
Have you mounted the tach without the face plate on yet? Did you use the bracket from rideblue00?
roll_the_dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 06:40 PM   #158
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by roll_the_dice View Post
Have you mounted the tach without the face plate on yet? Did you use the bracket from rideblue00?
Yes, I sure did. I didn't use his plate design because without the face plate, the tach installs into the cluster further by about maybe 1/4" just guessing. So I made a plate with a narrower ring. I included four tabs to secure it. It's not as fancy but it's very secure.

My plan was to upload a few pics but haven't gotten to it. Soon I hope.
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 06:52 PM   #159
roll_the_dice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 73
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by damnyankee36 View Post
Yes, I sure did. I didn't use his plate design because without the face plate, the tach installs into the cluster further by about maybe 1/4" just guessing. So I made a plate with a narrower ring. I included four tabs to secure it. It's not as fancy but it's very secure.

My plan was to upload a few pics but haven't gotten to it. Soon I hope.
Thanks...would love to see...I don't want the face plate on the tach...I think it will look cleaner. Agree?
roll_the_dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 08:55 PM   #160
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

Yes, I think it does look better. I also RTV'd the glass and rubber gasket on the housing just for more dust protection. The rubber also gives it a bit of cushion against the front of the cluster.
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 10:00 PM   #161
roll_the_dice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 73
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by damnyankee36 View Post
Yes, I think it does look better. I also RTV'd the glass and rubber gasket on the housing just for more dust protection. The rubber also gives it a bit of cushion against the front of the cluster.
Thanks...Can't wait to see pictures!
roll_the_dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 11:26 PM   #162
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

Here ya go...
Attached Images
    
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 11:28 PM   #163
roll_the_dice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 73
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by damnyankee36 View Post
Here ya go...
Looks fantastic! Thanks for the pics!
roll_the_dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 11:38 PM   #164
damnyankee36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 272
Re: My tach install thread

Thanks. Kinda crude but it works quite well, I think. I'd love to have one like yours, Ride!
damnyankee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 10:28 PM   #165
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,596
Re: My tach install thread

Working on a bracket for a 63 cluster
Attached Images
 
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017, 07:13 AM   #166
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,596
Re: My tach install thread

So here are a few more pics of the 63 bracket. Haven't worked out all the bugs yet. Only exception, I will have to have the original bracket off the customers cluster to machine the hole to fit the tach. Since the cluster bracket houses the fuel and the oil gauge, I'm not making a complete new bracket, just an addition bracket. unless someone knows cad and can come up with dimensions. Its a time consuming bracket, the 64-66 one i make is way easier.
Attached Images
   
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 10:42 AM   #167
_mg
Active Member
 
_mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 163
Re: My tach install thread

I bought your tach bracket 9/2016, have yet to do anything with it but I am thinking about buying one of the the Bosch FST8050 units. After reading the recent posts, I am not clear if my bracket is compatible with the Bosch FST8050?
_mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 11:46 AM   #168
rideblue00
Senior Member
 
rideblue00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 1,596
Re: My tach install thread

The FST 8050 is what it is designed for.
rideblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 03:37 PM   #169
_mg
Active Member
 
_mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 163
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rideblue00 View Post
The FST 8050 is what it is designed for.
Okay thanks, just ordered the tachometer. Hopefully I can install both soon!
_mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:15 PM   #170
MikeN
Registered User
 
MikeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 585
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by _mg View Post
Okay thanks, just ordered the tachometer. Hopefully I can install both soon!
Just installed mine - easy install and looks/works great.
MikeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:39 PM   #171
_mg
Active Member
 
_mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 163
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeN View Post
Just installed mine - easy install and looks/works great.
Picture?
_mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 08:19 PM   #172
_mg
Active Member
 
_mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 163
Re: My tach install thread

Would like to replicate the other cluster connections for the tach connections, any idea where I can get these terminals?
Attached Images
 
_mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 06:11 AM   #173
The Rocknrod
Senior Member
 
The Rocknrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: China Spring, TX
Posts: 1,876
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by _mg View Post
Would like to replicate the other cluster connections for the tach connections, any idea where I can get these terminals?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DELPHI-02973...rnZxeQ&vxp=mtr
These guys pretend they have a web site: http://www.delmarwire.com/home/56-series-bodies/
Not sure if you can get them from here - http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...jtz5p8b1U8Q%3d

Last edited by The Rocknrod; 06-28-2017 at 06:28 AM.
The Rocknrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 06:54 AM   #174
_mg
Active Member
 
_mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 163
Re: My tach install thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rocknrod View Post
Excellent, I spent hours looking and didn't find it! Do you have a link to the metal terminal post? Thanks for the help Rocknrod.
_mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 12:25 AM   #175
Ken Cook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Ragley, La.
Posts: 24
Re: My tach install thread

I am interested in the 63 bracket. Let me know if you can sell me one.
Ken Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com