The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2018, 10:07 AM   #1
4x4k30
Registered User
 
4x4k30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 589
tcc brake switch ??

I am reworking a blue green harness and on the blue side pin number 33 is purple tcc brake switch wire can I just splice it in the hot wire to brake switch ? or splice it in the brake light hot side brake lights on ?
__________________
4x4k30 if trouble was money i would have plenty
4x4k30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2018, 02:25 PM   #2
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,444
Re: tcc brake switch ??

No, you need to hook that to an ignition 12v, but that gets cut off when the brakes are applied. Do you have a 4 prong brake switch? You will need one if you don't. Here's a pic I stole from this site somewhere, but should help.

There will be a light blue wire on the TAC plug, pin 6 that goes to the cold side of the brake light switch, and you can hook that one up to your original brake light plug as it will need to see 12v with the brakes applied.
Attached Images
 
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2018, 04:24 PM   #3
4x4k30
Registered User
 
4x4k30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 589
Re: tcc brake switch ??

ok my truck does not have that just 2 I got one on the way. I have been driving the truck for a few years without it never no problems other than the overdrive been having to back off the throttle for it to go in overdrive maybe this will solve that it looks just like that.
__________________
4x4k30 if trouble was money i would have plenty
4x4k30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 03:48 PM   #4
4x4k30
Registered User
 
4x4k30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 589
Re: tcc brake switch ??

I bought this tcc switch and the destructions don't say anything about the light blue wire going to the tac module http://www.psiconversion.com/instruc...STRUCTIONS.pdf
__________________
4x4k30 if trouble was money i would have plenty
4x4k30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 11:22 PM   #5
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,444
Re: tcc brake switch ??

That's because the instructions aren't for the whole engine harness. The GM manual shows it, I posted a pic of it in the cruise control thread, post #18. Light blue wire, pin #6 on the TAC plug. Needs power when the brakes are applied. http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=511477
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 05:22 PM   #6
4x4k30
Registered User
 
4x4k30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 589
Re: tcc brake switch ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1nova71 View Post
That's because the instructions aren't for the whole engine harness. The GM manual shows it, I posted a pic of it in the cruise control thread, post #18. Light blue wire, pin #6 on the TAC plug. Needs power when the brakes are applied. http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=511477
I got the tcc switch installed can you tell me what it does ? I cant tell any difference with it hooked up.
__________________
4x4k30 if trouble was money i would have plenty
4x4k30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 05:35 PM   #7
mongocanfly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,072
Re: tcc brake switch ??

arnt you using a nv4500? or am I getting you mixed up with someone else?
the tcc switch disengauges the torque converter clutch (tcc) when you slow down...
__________________
Mongo...aka Greg

1981 c30 lq9 nv4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
1955.1 ls3 tr6060...(under construction)(on hold)
2013 gmc z71. (daily driver)
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563

Last edited by mongocanfly; 03-10-2018 at 06:06 PM.
mongocanfly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 06:07 PM   #8
mongocanfly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,072
Re: tcc brake switch ??

here it is explained.....https://www.freeasestudyguides.com/a...er-clutch.html
__________________
Mongo...aka Greg

1981 c30 lq9 nv4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
1955.1 ls3 tr6060...(under construction)(on hold)
2013 gmc z71. (daily driver)
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563
mongocanfly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 08:58 PM   #9
4x4k30
Registered User
 
4x4k30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 589
Re: tcc brake switch ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mongocanfly View Post
arnt you using a nv4500? or am I getting you mixed up with someone else?
the tcc switch disengauges the torque converter clutch (tcc) when you slow down...
no I am running a lq4 6.0 with a 4l80e and np205.. the engine and transmission came out of a 2006 2500hd 2wd and its in a 77 k3500 crewcab when i did the swap I never hooked up the tcc wire I thought it was just for the cruise.i have always had to let off the gas pedal just a little for the transmission to go into overdrive and it seems to just glide into overdrive not just shift rite into it. I have been driving it for about 4 years without the tcc switch hooked up I drove it for a short distance today and it seemed then be the same but I will try it out and drive it a little more and see how it does .thanks for the info on the tcc I never knew there was a clutch in the torque converter.
__________________
4x4k30 if trouble was money i would have plenty
4x4k30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com