The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Racing and high performance (trucks haulin more than hay)

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-31-2009, 08:46 PM   #1
1970chevy

msd crank trigger

i just bought a sonnys 555bbc i got here and it need the crank trigger so i went and bought a msd part # 8620 crank trigger and its for a 8inch balancer i got it home and i have a 7inch ati balancer on does that matter or should i pick up a sbc 7 inch crank trigger i am new to this crank trigger
thanks
1970chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 09:30 PM   #2
pumpgas

Re: msd crank trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1970chevy View Post
i just bought a sonnys 555bbc i got here and it need the crank trigger so i went and bought a msd part # 8620 crank trigger and its for a 8inch balancer i got it home and i have a 7inch ati balancer on does that matter or should i pick up a sbc 7 inch crank trigger i am new to this crank trigger
thanks

You will def need the big block mounting brackets I would just run the 8620 and call it a day won't hurt a thing the ignition has no clue how big the balancer is.
69' Chevy short step carbed 6.0 w/400th trans. Completed w/325 miles on it
pumpgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 09:37 PM   #3
1970chevy

thank you i never delt with a crank trigger are they easy to run for a ignition box i am using the new msd 6al-2 box it looks easy to wire in thanks for your help
Old 01-31-2009, 10:45 PM   #4
nxtruck