The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-21-2023, 10:43 PM   #1
66C10LB

Fuel Filler question 1966 C10

I have built my idea of a fuel filler setup for my 66 C10. I am not very experienced with fuel systems so I was wondering if others know if it is important to add a fuel overfill/vent connected into the filler neck close to the filler cap, OR if it is enough to run a fuel vent line that is not connected to the filler neck using hose and a rollover valve. (Fuel filler is positioned on the INNER wall of the Fleetside bedside) Any ideas would be appreciated. Pictures for reference....
Attached Images

66C10LB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2023, 01:29 PM   #2
caseyjones

Re: Fuel Filler question 1966 C10

I just installed my fuel filler in a similar spot on my GMC. I don’t have a vented cap so I installed the rollover vent about 3-4 inches above the fuel cap. I still get a little bit of fuel pushing out of the vent after I fill up and the truck sits-I assume the fuel is expanding with heat and pushing up the vent line. If you have a vented cap, I suggest you route the vent line to the filler neck to avoid my situation.
caseyjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2023, 03:02 PM   #3
bigmoe

I have my vent/rollover valve mounted up high between the inner and outer fender and a non-vented boat filler cap to fill. My routing is similar to yours and I have to fill slowly or it gurgles back on me. Nothing burping out the vent.
Attached Images

bigmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2023, 04:15 PM   #4
66C10LB

Quote:
Originally Posted by caseyjones View Post