The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-20-2018, 01:50 PM   #1
mick53

brake line size

Here is some info on my build. 53 1/2 ton pickup. Wilwood 12.88" drilled and slotted rotors. Rear cable drive emergency brake. 4 piston rear and 6 piston front. Frankland QC rear end and leaf spring front and rear if that matters. So here's the deal. I build factories for a living and we have thousands of feet of high end stainless steel tubing from 1/4" to 1/2" in my buildings. We end up with a lot of scrap sometimes 15 to 20 feet long. Wilwood tells me I need 3/16" line for my brakes and not to use 1/4" line. I don't understand why. Same in same out? In the big picture buying 3/16" tubing wont make much difference but I just don't understand why. Any advice would be helpful. I also have pallets of fittings for 1/4". Thanks for any help.
mick53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 02:01 PM   #2
Cautrell05

Re: brake line size

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick53 View Post
Here is some info on my build. 53 1/2 ton pickup. Wilwood 12.88" drilled and slotted rotors. Rear cable drive emergency brake. 4 piston rear and 6 piston front. Frankland QC rear end and leaf spring front and rear if that matters. So here's the deal. I build factories for a living and we have thousands of feet of high end stainless steel tubing from 1/4" to 1/2" in my buildings. We end up with a lot of scrap sometimes 15 to 20 feet long. Wilwood tells me I need 3/16" line for my brakes and not to use 1/4" line. I don't understand why. Same in same out? In the big picture buying 3/16" tubing wont make much difference but I just don't understand why. Any advice would be helpful. I also have pallets of fittings for 1/4". Thanks for any help.