The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-30-2018, 05:52 PM   #1
bob8619

Quadrajet question

I've never worked on a QJet before and its been years since I've worked on any carb so I'm a bit stumped right now.

So when I press the gas pedal it pulls the throttle lever on the drivers side of the carb, this also simultaneously flips the linkage on the passenger side (as seen in the pic) which closes the choke plate. From what I can tell, something should be on the passenger side that eventually pushes that linkage back the opposite way which opens the choke plates and prevents it from being pushed again when gas pedal is pushed.

I live in Florida and don't really need a choke so I figured I'll just remove the choke plate and call it a day but it turns out it still goes into a high idle setting when that linkage on the passenger side is flipped (by pressing the gas pedal).

Does it look like something is missing? Can I just rig that linkage to remain in the position to not let it get flipped when I press the gas or does it have to do with something other than cold starting?

This is a 68 C10 but it has a 305 in it from 76-79 range. Just bought it as a project truck so its all set up how the previous owner had it.

Name:  20180129_182601.jpg
Views: 422
Size:  61.0 KB
Old 01-30-2018, 06:09 PM   #2
B. W.

Re: Quadrajet question

You can wire the choke open, won't have a choke (obviously!)
Looks like your secondary lock out is missing also
Should look something like this:
Attached Images

B. W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:56 PM   #3
bob8619