The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2017, 05:24 PM   #1
Squints66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sun Valley Ca
Posts: 3
'66 292 Transmission question!!!

Hey guys , starting on my build this upcoming week (been on hold for 3yrs due to making excuses ) I have an automatic in which is the original I believe a powerglide . My question is , Can a newer 700 R4 drop in perfectly to the 292 ? Do I need some kind of adapter ? Thanks !
Attached Images
 
Squints66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 06:11 PM   #2
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 7,122
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Advanced adapters if one is needed.
__________________
Clyde65

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 08:47 PM   #3
ezz16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landis NC
Posts: 39
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

it is my understanding that the 292 trans bolt pattern is the same as all newer chevy transmissions
ezz16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 09:58 PM   #4
paulspickupparts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Seward Nebraska
Posts: 1,106
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

No adapter needed but measure overall length for driveshaft differences . Also make sure your tv cable is adjusted correctly on r4 or you will burn it up. This is the short answer .
paulspickupparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 10:15 PM   #5
padresag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sidney,b.c.
Posts: 4,275
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

there may also be a slight manipulation of the seam under the firewall for clearance issues.
not major
ron
padresag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 11:29 PM   #6
Captainfab
60-66 Nut

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 20,077
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

A 700R4 will bolt uo to a 292 no problem. I'm not sure if finding the correct flexplate will be an issue or not. The one thing that will be an issue is setting up the TV cable with the correct geometry. You will have to fabricate something as no one makes a kit for any I6 carbs. Unless you are running a 4bbl carb
__________________
Power Steering Box Adapter Plates For Sale HERE
Power Brake Booster Adapter Brackets For Sale '63-'66 HERE and '67-'72 HERE and '60-'62 HERE and "60-'62 with clutch HERE
Rear Disc Brake Brackets For Sale. Impala SS calipers HERE Camaro Calipers HERE D52 Calipers HERE 6 Lug HERE
Hydroboost Mounting Plates HERE
Captainfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 12:04 AM   #7
padresag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sidney,b.c.
Posts: 4,275
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captainfab View Post
A 700R4 will bolt uo to a 292 no problem. I'm not sure if finding the correct flexplate will be an issue or not. The one thing that will be an issue is setting up the TV cable with the correct geometry. You will have to fabricate something as no one makes a kit for any I6 carbs. Unless you are running a 4bbl carb
it would be the same flexplate for a 700r4 installation as used on a 283 or 350? just as long as it has the right r/gear
ron
padresag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 03:46 PM   #8
Wrenchbender Ret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 4,469
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

The v-8 flexplate will fit but make sure the holes to bolt it to the converter line up before you get it all up in there.
Wrenchbender Ret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 11:43 PM   #9
Captainfab
60-66 Nut

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 20,077
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Doesn't the 292 have 1/2" flexplate/flywheel bolts and 2 dowel pins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by padresag View Post
it would be the same flexplate for a 700r4 installation as used on a 283 or 350? just as long as it has the right r/gear
ron
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrenchbender Ret View Post
The v-8 flexplate will fit but make sure the holes to bolt it to the converter line up before you get it all up in there.
__________________
Power Steering Box Adapter Plates For Sale HERE
Power Brake Booster Adapter Brackets For Sale '63-'66 HERE and '67-'72 HERE and '60-'62 HERE and "60-'62 with clutch HERE
Rear Disc Brake Brackets For Sale. Impala SS calipers HERE Camaro Calipers HERE D52 Calipers HERE 6 Lug HERE
Hydroboost Mounting Plates HERE
Captainfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 12:37 AM   #10
Squints66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sun Valley Ca
Posts: 3
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Thank you everyone!!!! I'll post some updates soon . I'll be teaching my build here and on YouTube and Instagram. I'll be posting everything I've put into the truck ie. Time and the exact amount of $ for each item purchased . So everyone out there has an idea how much a build cost. I'll be restoring from the chassis up . I am deciding to keep the body exactly how it sits . So everything will be brought up to speed except the body . Only a matte clear coat will be added to the body. 🍻
Squints66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 12:40 AM   #11
Squints66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sun Valley Ca
Posts: 3
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

!!
Attached Images
 
Squints66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 01:29 AM   #12
63burban
Chevy addict
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Iron Ridge, WI
Posts: 976
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Lets not forget the torque converter lockup
63burban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 01:39 AM   #13
padresag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sidney,b.c.
Posts: 4,275
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captainfab View Post
Doesn't the 292 have 1/2" flexplate/flywheel bolts and 2 dowel pins?
I did use the same flywheel and bolts from a 292 unto a 283 and as a matter of fact went back and checked it.. just check and make sure that there is no discrepancy in what you are bolting on. make sure that the bolts fit the flywheel ,*flexplate and the crankshaft properly
ron
padresag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 10:24 AM   #14
old51sedan
Senior Member
 
old51sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Williamston, Mi
Posts: 262
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squints66 View Post
Hey guys , starting on my build this upcoming week (been on hold for 3yrs due to making excuses ) I have an automatic in which is the original I believe a powerglide . My question is , Can a newer 700 R4 drop in perfectly to the 292 ? Do I need some kind of adapter ? Thanks !
I'm currently installing a 200-R4 in my truck behind my 292. The 200-R4 is the same length as the 350 trans and I believe even the powerglide. Bolts right up, uses the same length driveshaft, just need to slide the mount back about 4-5 inches. A lot easier to install and would make you a nice cruiser.
old51sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 11:05 AM   #15
The Rocknrod
Senior Member
 
The Rocknrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: China Spring, TX
Posts: 1,876
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Checking dimensions:


It's too bad they dont make a dimension chart for manual transmissions like they for automatics -

Last edited by The Rocknrod; 10-04-2017 at 11:18 AM.
The Rocknrod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 10:15 AM   #16
Wrenchbender Ret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 4,469
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

The early 292 eng. had 7/16 bolts to the crank like the v-8s. The later engines about 68 up had 1/2 in bolts. If you have the later model engine, you can drill the holes in the flexplate out to 1/2 in.
Wrenchbender Ret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 01:19 PM   #17
Ennehazrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 32
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

According to a May 1998 Classic Trucks article titled "The Six Pack gets a TH-700R4- part 11", you need a Chevy patterned TH-7004 & a starter from a V8 that matches the ring gear tooth count. So, in almost verbatim...

The flexplate used was a TCI #399273, 168 tooth for a small block- but it is not a direct bolt-on. In a previous article, 1 of the 2 dowel pins used to locate the og flywheel was removed when they did the crank balancing (they wanted it perfect), you'll have to do the same to get the flexplate to fit.

Torque converter to flexplate bolts are metric; GM #1261968 (10mm-1.5 x 15mm).

Sixes use 1/2"-20 bolts where V8s use 7/16"-20 bolts, so, the holes on the flexplate must carefully be resized with a 1/2" drill bit. The holes must be as tight as a virgin or you could end up with a loose flexplate!

Next you will need a set of flexplate bolts that will fit the crank flange & extend fully through out the flange, but not so far that you hit the rear of the block. The part they used was ARP #200-2904 (made for Pontiac). Because there are some differences in bolts & converter designs, make sure that the flexplate bolts are not too tall (where they hit the front of the torque converter). Pre-fit everything by installing the bolts in the flexplate with the converter located & insure that there is a gap between the bolt heads & the converter.

The starter is a standard SB Chevy used in many small block applications. Take the time to properly shim the starter. Also make sure you use the support brace at the front of the starter to the block. This brace is critical to correct support and often makes the difference between a burned out starter & a damaged ring gear and a long trouble free life.

A new driveshaft was built by Denny's Driveshaft Service in Kenmore, NY.

For mechanical controls, a stainless braided type of TV cable #KD2700-HT by Lokar.
Flexible bellhousing-mounted dipstick tube #TD3700-TM.
Shift linkage #ACA-1800
To accomodate the trans lock-up solenoid, TCI #376600 kit (installs on the valve body in the og locations & links to the brake light witch). However, the author states that this is important in 2 ways. (1) you must pwr the solenoid circuit and trigger the solenoid w/ a pressure switch to engage lock-up, (2) you need a means to release the solenoid and lock up when you apply the brakes. /the TCI kit is a sinple way to manage this.

Hope this helps!

Last edited by Ennehazrad; 10-05-2017 at 05:53 PM. Reason: Spelling & part #s
Ennehazrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 02:03 PM   #18
padresag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sidney,b.c.
Posts: 4,275
Re: '66 292 Transmission question!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrenchbender Ret View Post
The early 292 eng. had 7/16 bolts to the crank like the v-8s. The later engines about 68 up had 1/2 in bolts. If you have the later model engine, you can drill the holes in the flexplate out to 1/2 in.
thanks for the info. I knew that there was some sort of split in there but didnčt know when
ron
padresag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com