The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-15-2017, 12:42 AM   #1
BIGglaSS

Leaky doors?

I have been working on door repair for the last several months. (1957 pickup). These doors/cabs are a pain to align. I finally got the drivers door decently adjusted and shutting flush.

Today I put on the door seal to make sure all was still good. Seal is "Precision" brand. Lets just say that most spots are wide enough to throw a dead cat through.

Am I trying too hard to make these doors fit and seal up? Should I be looking for thicker door seals? Even with thicker door seals, I doubt the upper frame around the window would seal. These doors are too flexible up there.

Can they be made to keep the water out?
BIGglaSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 09:15 AM   #2
my56chevytruck

Re: Leaky doors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGglaSS View Post
I have been working on door repair for the last several months. (1957 pickup). These doors/cabs are a pain to align. I finally got the drivers door decently adjusted and shutting flush.

Today I put on the door seal to make sure all was still good. Seal is "Precision" brand. Lets just say that most spots are wide enough to throw a dead cat through.

Am I trying too hard to make these doors fit and seal up? Should I be looking for thicker door seals? Even with thicker door seals, I doubt the upper frame around the window would seal. These doors are too flexible up there.

Can they be made to keep the water out?