The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > Squarebody Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-01-2016, 11:28 PM   #1
Jigme

An Abandoned '78 gets another shot...

Hello all, new here... from Edmonton alberta canada. HD mech by trade at a Mack Truck dealership, but doing car and truck stuff as a hobby since I can remember. I was mostly into NBS trucks, however I started a project that never got off the ground and ended up in the junkyard. I found myself not only missing having a truck, but being in situations where I really needed one... the quest began.

I'll be honest, the last thing I ever pictured myself owning was a square. I always had a hard on for the 67-72's (I do now own a 72... that's another tale for another time). Around here, those are few and far between, and you can expect to pay a small fortune for a write off.

A friend of mine knew I was looking for a good work truck. He told me about a 78 gmc he had sitting on his parents farm. The price was right, $400.

This was early june of 2015. I didn't even go look at it before buying it. I seen a couple pictures, couldn't be that bad right?

Seeing it in person, it was very evident this truck had been sitting for many, many years. My friend didn't know much of the history, however he did know it had been sitting for at least 7 years. Last tag on the plate was 2001, and it had a 2001 eskimos grey cup champs sticker on the back window. Safe to say it had been a while since it seen the driveway... let alone drove down a highway... None the less, I aired up the 15 year old tires, topped up the engine with used motor oil, filled up the tank which ended up leaking, and got her running.