The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > Welcome and Discussion > General Discussion

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-22-2017, 06:22 AM   #1
In The Ten Ring

Any Auto 5 hunters?

I first saw a Browning Automatic 5 shotgun when I went hunting with a best friend in high school. He used it all the time, no matter what the weather, and got great results with it. He likened it to "a 40mm anti aircraft gun in WW2 shooting at Jap planes." If you had to put that much lead out on a squirrel, yes it would be! LOL

I bought myself one in 2003 after I graduated college, a reblued and gorgeous 1950's model. I now have five. Two in 12 gauge, two in 16 gauge, and one in 20 gauge. I am looking forward to hunting with the 16 and 20 this fall.

I think it's a beautiful shotgun, so graceful, and with vent rib barrel and "flat knob" pistol grip, it really gets my attention.

I haven't been hunting since 2010 but I really want to get afield this year.

Any Auto 5 members here?
In The Ten Ring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 07:13 AM   #2
Grumpy old man

Re: Any Auto 5 hunters?

Any Browning is worth it's weight I'm a fan of the lever action .22 lr and the .22 semi that is 2 piece and ejects spent rounds down and away is a beautiful thing ... We used to hunt with LC Smith doubles back in the 70's and now they run in the $6-7,000.00 range . But my favorite has to be the lowly Mossberg 500 A1 riffled slug in 12 gauge Now thats a cannon and as a home defense weapon all you have to do is let any intruder hear a pump rack once and they are gone !
Grumpy old man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 04:20 PM   #3
In The Ten Ring

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy old man View Post