The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-27-2017, 11:00 PM   #1
fourspeedwagon

Ifs crossmember questions

I’ve been looking at and reading threads about ifs’ for my 47.2 panel. I’m unclear about aftermarket crossmembers. I thought that part of the point was to be able to pull the whole thing off a donor and place it on the donee’(?). Then I see all the “kits” to use. Was I wrong about using the entire crossmember/suspension or are the aftermarket ones just a nicety but not required?

Thinking to buy a complete(ish) jaguar and use the front and the rear for it. But not totally set on this option. I’d prefer to use the stock frame rather than chassis swap—
“People are shocked when they find out I’m not a good electrician”
Dad told me “Son, never strike a man in anger- unless you’re certain you can get away with it”
fourspeedwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 11:39 PM   #2
mongocanfly
Post Whore

Re: Ifs crossmember questions

your not gonna find a ifs that will just bolt on and be done..there's fab work involved with any cm swap. ..the aftermarket kits are designed around your original frame and that allows you to then bolt on all the goodys...I considered a jag front on mine but after reading I pulled the plug on that..i cant remember what changed my mind now..I went with flatout crossmember and vett suspension

RIP Dad
RIP Jesse

1981 C30 LQ9 NV4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
Mongos AD- LS3 TR6060...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...34#post8522334
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563
2023 Chevy Z71..daily driver
mongocanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 01:13 AM   #3
mr48chev