The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 09:03 AM   #1
Hazieview
Building Dreams out of Dimes!
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bonham, Tx
Posts: 892
My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1000.

So Iím confused. I can idle my truck down to 600 rpm and it idles fine. You can really hear the cam at the lower rpm. However, if I stomp the throttle the truck bogs down real bad before it takes off. It wonít even spin the tires. If I idle it up to 1000 rpm and I mash the throttle it will spin all day long. Also, at 1000 rpm, at idle, I can feel my truck wanting to roll when stopped so I have to keep my foot on the break. I have a 1500 stall.

Iím just curious on how RPM affects hard acceleration off idle.

My cam specs.
280į/290į Advertised Cam Duration
214į/224į Cam Duration @ .050"
.473/.497 Gross Valve Lift
Initial timing is at 18 degrees. Advance is at 35.


Any explanation? Thanks guys.
__________________
1981 Chevy short/wide.
SB400 350th
Hazieview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:33 AM   #2
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,633
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

At what rpm is your initial of 18 measured at?
Is your balancer/timing tab accurate?
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:12 AM   #3
Hazieview
Building Dreams out of Dimes!
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bonham, Tx
Posts: 892
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Good question! I actually unhooked my vacuum advance and reset my timing. Iím now at 12 degrees at an idle speed of 900 rpm and 35 at 3500 rpm.
__________________
1981 Chevy short/wide.
SB400 350th
Hazieview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:51 AM   #4
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,633
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Get your idle down closer to 700 and then set your initial.
At 900 you could be just into the mechanical timing.
Set your initial at 14 to start with.

Always plug off your vac advance to set initial.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 12:21 PM   #5
garyd1961
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Henderson NC
Posts: 663
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Sounds to me like you need a bigger stall, 1500 and a big cam just doesn't go together.
garyd1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 05:06 PM   #6
jamyers
Senior Member
 
jamyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buffalo Gap, TX
Posts: 200
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Accelerator pump, probably not giving enough of a shot to get from idle into the main circuits
__________________
My Chevy Truck Project Build Thread
'62 Ranchero - 200 I6, 3-on-the-tree, power nothing.
'71 LeSabre - 455 Stage 1, power everything.
jamyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 05:34 PM   #7
garyd1961
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Henderson NC
Posts: 663
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamyers View Post
Accelerator pump, probably not giving enough of a shot to get from idle into the main circuits
If the accelerator pump ain't working at 600 rpm it's not going to be working at 1000 either. Put a bigger stall converter in it and it will idle at 600 but rev up past 1000 when you hit hit the gas. Your cam has no power in the 600 range.
garyd1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 05:49 PM   #8
GASoline71
"I ain't nobody, dork."
 
GASoline71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Whidbey Island, Washington
Posts: 8,563
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

More pump shot nedded. When you set the idle higher your carb enters into the transition from off idle to the primary metering circuit. So you're pulling more fuel. Which is the job of the accelerator pump so you can stay at a lower RPM.

And I second the stall needs to be at a higher RPM. 1,500 is barely over stock.

Gary
__________________
'cuz chicks dig scars...

My 1972 GMC 1500 Super Custom (Creeping Death) "long term" build thread.

The Rebuild of Creeping Death after the wreck

Quote:
Originally Posted by LONGHAIR View Post
I would never rebuild a 305.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prostreetC-10 View Post
I love using vacuum gauges as part of the carb tuning process. I hook the gauge to the inside of my garbage can and leave it there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv D View Post
Remember Murphys 2nd law of mechanical relationships... "OPPOSING COMPONENTS ATTEMPTING TO OCCUPY THE SAME SPACE, AT THE SAME TIME, GENERALLY END UP OCCUPYING ADJOINING SPACE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE OIL PAN"
GASoline71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 08:30 PM   #9
Hazieview
Building Dreams out of Dimes!
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bonham, Tx
Posts: 892
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Good info guys thanks for replying. My camshaft rpm range is from 1500 to 5500 rpm. I was thinking a 1500 stall should be fine for this cam.

It use to burn the tires down with no problems not too long ago. I put a new accelerator pump in it and set it to the hole that will give the biggest shot... Still donít know whatís going on. Iím really hoping I donít need a bigger stall. Iím going to idle it up to 900 rpms and see what happens.
__________________
1981 Chevy short/wide.
SB400 350th
Hazieview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 08:56 PM   #10
Hazieview
Building Dreams out of Dimes!
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bonham, Tx
Posts: 892
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

I swear it seems like the accelerator pump but I replaced it with a bran new one.

So I ended up idling the truck up to 900 rpm with the truck in park. I slammed on the throttle and got a tiny backfire out of the carburetor. I fled town to 600 rpm and the backfire went away. Took it for a test drive and it still bogs down when I stomp the throttle but it gradually speeds up and takes off. It never dies. Just a weird bog. So instead of spinning the tires it just bogs down. Iíve had the exact same problem with a bad accelerator pump but I just changed that so now Iím stumped.
__________________
1981 Chevy short/wide.
SB400 350th
Hazieview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:46 PM   #11
Wrenchbender Ret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 4,725
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Try raising the float levels a little.
George
Wrenchbender Ret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:55 AM   #12
kwmech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Colfax-California
Posts: 5,612
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Which carburetor are you running?
kwmech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 12:56 PM   #13
garyd1961
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Henderson NC
Posts: 663
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Just because the advertised stall is 1500 doesn't mean that is what it will be. It depends on a lot of other factors what the actual stall is.
garyd1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 01:15 PM   #14
Hazieview
Building Dreams out of Dimes!
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bonham, Tx
Posts: 892
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Iím running an Edelbrock 600 cfm. Itís undersized by about 50 cfm but it has been getting it done.

I donít understand why stall would all of the sudden be a problem. I use to smoke the tires through all three gears with no problem at all. Right now it will spin the tires on a dirt road but if I put it on pavement it bogs.
__________________
1981 Chevy short/wide.
SB400 350th
Hazieview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 01:59 PM   #15
garyd1961
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Henderson NC
Posts: 663
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

U
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazieview View Post
I’m running an Edelbrock 600 cfm. It’s undersized by about 50 cfm but it has been getting it done.

I don’t understand why stall would all of the sudden be a problem. I use to smoke the tires through all three gears with no problem at all. Right now it will spin the tires on a dirt road but if I put it on pavement it bogs.
I didn't see that in any of your other posts. From what I read I thought your problem started when you idled it down to 600 but it ran fine when idled up to 1000+. Popping through the carburator is timing off, bad carb, bad cam, or vacuum leak. I would check for vacuum leaks first.
Also what does the inside of your distributor cap and rotor button look like. When was the last time they were changed.

Last edited by garyd1961; 07-12-2019 at 02:59 PM.
garyd1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 02:24 PM   #16
jamyers
Senior Member
 
jamyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buffalo Gap, TX
Posts: 200
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

Sure sounds like an issue going from the idle circuit, through the transition slots, into the main venturis - generally caused by an Accelerator Pump issue.

You might try dialing back the pump shot...

Or, open the carb up and make sure there's no trash in the transition slot passages, that would cause a stumble going from idle to the mains...
__________________
My Chevy Truck Project Build Thread
'62 Ranchero - 200 I6, 3-on-the-tree, power nothing.
'71 LeSabre - 455 Stage 1, power everything.
jamyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 04:10 PM   #17
Hazieview
Building Dreams out of Dimes!
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bonham, Tx
Posts: 892
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

I wonder if it did get some kind of trash in the Carb. It just doesnít make any since. I had this same issue before. I simply changed the accelerator pump and the issue was fixed. Now I have a bran new accelerator pump but the problem is still there.

I have an HEI distributor custom made by DUI. Iím going to change out my plugs and wires any way so Iíll see what happens after that. If I canít figure it out Iím going to buy a new carburetor and just tear down my old carburetor to see if it has issues.
__________________
1981 Chevy short/wide.
SB400 350th
Hazieview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:22 PM   #18
cadillac_al
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,783
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

How much vacuum is that cam making? It kind sounds like a vacuum leak to me. A vacuum leak will make the engine die down when you put it in gear and want to creep.
__________________
76 Chevy K20
76 GMC K15
77 Chevy C10
cadillac_al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:50 PM   #19
Dead Parrot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,268
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

If I have read the thread correctly, the build as is used to work great and has recently stopped being great. If so, I don't see the choice of parts being too far off.

Which carb? If it is one of the Eddy 1400 variants, the power pistons are prone to getting gummed up. Try loosening the covers and cleaning both the pistons and cylinders. I have a 1405 on a stock 350 setup and when the power pistons start sticking, it will bog on a hard acceleration.

Other things to check:
The timing curve. Possible the mechanical is sticking and not coming in like it used to.
Transmission fluid level.
Fuel lines and filter.
Dead Parrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 04:14 PM   #20
mattfranklin
Registered User
 
mattfranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Moraga, CA
Posts: 572
Re: My truck will idle at 600 rpm but I have no power off the line unless I idle at 1

I don't know Edelbrock carbs, but I know a little about Holleys. Holley carburetors have a larger volume accelerator pump available for theirs, also more than a dozen different accelerator pump cam profiles. Maybe Edelbrock has similar accessories for their carbs?
__________________
(Very) Slow-Going Build Thread: Stock 1970 Short Step with Stock 1970 LT-1

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=567340
mattfranklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com