The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-21-2017, 02:30 PM   #1
jeremywrags

Wheel & Tire size for Flat out C4 Build

Hi All,

I came across a smoking deal (it caught fire) on an 86 corvette for $200. Good news is that the suspension is perfect and the car only had 80K miles on it. Based on this find I am going to go with the Flat Out Engineering front & rear suspension setup for my 1959 Apache

Admittedly I am new to all of this but Jerry at Flat out seems super helpful so I think this is the direction i'll go.

That said, the vette has no wheels so I am going to start looking for a set of wheels and tires. I have a couple of questions.

1. What size wheel & tire would work\ look good with this setup?
2. Anyone have pictures of this setup? I want to know what the rake looks like. I do not like the stinkbug look, I like it more close to level
3. Is there a way to level it out with this setup?

Thanks
jeremywrags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 11:12 AM   #2
CountofMonteCarlo84

Re: Wheel & Tire size for Flat out C4 Build

Well I can tell you I have 215/55/18 in front and 265/50/20 in the rear on my 57. I can't see getting any bigger of a tire in the front without some mods and my fenders are already rolled. I won't post a picture though because its dropped some in the front beyond that kit and the rear has air ride.
CountofMonteCarlo84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 12:05 PM   #3
Dan in Pasadena

My ‘55.2 has Flat Out front cross member and Corvette IFS up front. The rear is a Mustang 8.8 rearend flipped on top of the stock leaf springs. The bed isn’t on so the rear height will be adjusted after that.