The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Electrical

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-20-2019, 12:04 PM   #1
TA_C10

LS Standalone Harness + Battery Relocation + Bulkhead Connections

I'm trying to get this right the first time. I did some searching on this and this is the best diagram I could come up with. I am no wiring expert and really want to understand this.

What I have come up with is I need protection between the battery and alternator and protection between battery and bulkhead, and protection between battery and engine harness.

My info:
I have a LM7 LS swap with the original harness cut down to a standalone harness.
I will be doing a battery relocation to passenger side frame rail

So, will this work?
- Battery and Alternator = 100amp Circuit Breaker
- Battery and Bulkhead/Engine Harness = 80amp Circuit Breaker
- Battery and Engine Harness(LS) - 50amp
- Battery and Starter = FORD Solenoid (1989 mustang style)

The LS Harness is my biggest question here. Does it need to be on a separate circuit breaker or should I combine that with the 80amp going to truck bulkhead?

Here is a similar wiring diagram I found.

"It's only money".
TA_C10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:43 PM   #2
mongocanfly
Post Whore

Re: LS Standalone Harness + Battery Relocation + Bulkhead Connections

you might ask this in the LS swap section...itll get more looks there...

RIP Dad
RIP Jesse

1981 C30 LQ9 NV4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
Mongos AD- LS3 TR6060...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...34#post8522334
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563
2023 Chevy Z71..daily driver
mongocanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 10:02 PM   #3
a.c.ward